Day 37: Landsborough to Coolum Beach - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

March 24, 2021

Day 37: Landsborough to Coolum Beach

Start: 9am
Distance: 49kms
Ride time: 3:11hrs
Average: 15km/hr
Max: 42km/hr 
Finish: 1:10pm

I slept great in the cabin last night. It was raining in the morning which made it hard to leave. I did consider staying a second night to avoid the rain but they had no cabins available. 

There was light rain all day. Enough to make me wet. 

I rode in a north-easterly direction for 27kms until I hit the coast at Maroochydore. I managed to avoid riding on the Bruce Highway except for 2kms.

Maroochydore beach with lots of foam.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Sea foam info.

Maroochy River.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Crossing the Maroochy River.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I stopped in Pacific Paradise for a healthy lunch.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Then I followed David Lowe Way up the coast to Coolum Beach. 

The clouds parted enough for me to get a glimpse of Mt Coolum.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A nice bike path beside Coolum Beach.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Coolum Beach Holiday Park. $50!
Heart 1 Comment 0

These prices make me wince a lot but I know I'll have much cheaper places once I get off the east coast.  My tent is only 50 metres from the beach so perhaps I shouldn't complain too much.

I stopped riding early because I was sick of the rain. I spent the afternoon being dry and happy in the big camp kitchen area.

Magpie-lark.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonWhat a beautiful bird!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

Magpie-larks are very common in Australia. I was able to get a close pic of this one because he just swallowed a road-kill frog in the caravan park. 

The camping shop called me and said they will send me a new mattress to my Mum's address which is a  few days ride from here. The timing should work out well.

About 4pm, the rain eventually stopped and I went for a walk along the beach. It was nice. I haven't walked along the beach for a while. The water was warm.

Looking north.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Looking south
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking east.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I wonder if I'll do any beach riding on this trip?

Ghost crab.
Heart 7 Comment 0

Ghost crab.

A delicious sweat-inducing Thai green chicken curry for dinner.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I don't know how I'll cope when I have to rely on roadhouses for food. Lately I've been eating very well.

Serena sends me pics of Gomer and Yoshi all the time.
Heart 8 Comment 2
Daniel Van IngenBeautiful photo of ya mates I bet they gave you strength t 8 solder on proud of you buddy
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyG'day buddy. They sure did. Thank you.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Today's ride: 49 km (30 miles)
Total: 1,789 km (1,111 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0