Day 20: Wollomombi to Ebor - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

March 6, 2021

Day 20: Wollomombi to Ebor

Start: 8:50am
Distance: 43kms
Ride time: 3:52hrs
Average: 11km/hr
Max: 53km/hr 
Finish: 2:30pm

The morning was overcast and a little chilly. I wore my rain jacket while I had breaky and packed up camp.

Pretty little church in Wollomombi.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Farm gate display. It looks like a steam driven tractor.
Heart 6 Comment 2
Mike AylingHi Vince
That was a stationary engine, not a tractor which would have had lugs on the rear wheels. Used to be dragged around the farm to where it was needed by horses or bullocks.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Portable_engine

Mike
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Mike. Good observations. I've added your link. Thanks
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
This label was on the back.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Clayton & Shuttleworth

Edit: Mike corrected me that this isn't a tractor. It's a portable engine. I never noticed that there were no lugs on the wheels. Thank you Mike.

Road pic.
Heart 2 Comment 0

There were lots of hills today.

The temperature was about 15C. I would sweat profusely going up the hills and then get a chill going down the other side. 

(It's 3:30pm as I write this and I'm snuggled in my tent under the sleeping bag to keep warm)

There were more roadworks. These people were friendly enough. 

Once they realised I was travelling a lot slower than the cars, they started releasing vehicles from either end at their regular intermissions.

I was given instructions to ride on the side of the road that was under repair and "just go around the roller and the trucks".

It all worked out okay. 

After a few hours of climbing hills, I arrived at Ebor. 667 meters of climbing today.

Heart 1 Comment 0
The Ebor Falls were pretty. This is the upper falls.
Heart 9 Comment 0
This is the lower falls.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Scenery pic
Heart 4 Comment 0
Golden everlasting daisy
Heart 4 Comment 0

Golden everlasting daisy

Snow gums are easy to identify because the leaf veins run parallel which differs from most eucalypts.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Snow gums.

I went into the town and had lunch and a big coffee to warm up.

Daisy was in the local primary school. Yey for dairy farmers!
Heart 3 Comment 0

Then I investigated my camping options. They were to stay behind the pub. (Potentially noisy). Stay in the rest area next to a sports ground. (Muddy and messy). Or sneak into the sports ground and stay behind the building. (Privacy and lush grass). Of course I chose the latter.

I was in need of a good wash so I heated up some water in the trangia and cleaned my filthy body.

There was a water tap so I was able to give my clothes a wash too.

My stealth camp. Free.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today I climbed 682 metres and I passed 1,000kms of this trip. Wahoo!

Today's ride: 43 km (27 miles)
Total: 1,017 km (632 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Veronica JoinerWell done getting passed 1000 kms already. I love reading of your adventures.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Rodney PrestonYou are making a lot of progress, nice work!
It’s cool that you get to see so many places that you wouldn’t normally see!
😎👍
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo Veronica JoinerThank you Aunty. The last 3 weeks has whizzed by.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyThanks buddy. I agree. Yesterday was pretty awesome.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago