Day 17: Bendemeer to Uralla - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

March 3, 2021

Day 17: Bendemeer to Uralla

Start: 9am
Distance: 51kms
Ride time: 3:35hrs
Average: 14km/hr
Max: 49km/hr 
Finish: 2:30pm

It was a cool night which made it easy to sleep. I ignored my alarm several times and finally got up at 8am. 

The caravan park has a coffee machine so I enjoyed a nice coffee and home made carrot cake before I departed.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Today's tree pic.
Heart 4 Comment 0
All the dams are full at this higher elevation.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I was having a break at a rest stop when some road workers came up and kindly offered me water.

I probably didn't need any but I accepted it gratefully in the hope they will offer water to the next cyclist they see too.

This made up for my bad experiences yesterday with roadworkers. 

Thank you Rob and Calvin!
Heart 5 Comment 0
The day became overcast with the temperature about 25C. It was very nice compared to the last several hot days.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Happy Murray Grey cows.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I received several toots and waves today. It's always motivational especially on big hills.

I climbed 553m and reached an elevation of 1,118m.

Heart 3 Comment 0
I went to a museum and they had this old banner from 1895.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
The town had some nice old buildings too.
Heart 4 Comment 0
$30
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 51 km (32 miles)
Total: 893 km (555 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Graham SmithHi Vince,

I see you’ve reached the mighty Moonbi Ranges. They are steep.

The son of one of my old Tamworth work mates used to have a tow truck service at Bendemeer where he’d push semi trailers up the range.

Back in the day when semis didn’t have 600+ horse power motors like they do nowadays.

All the best for the ascent to Armidale.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyWow. I could have used a push going up the hills too.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago