Day 16: Tamworth to Bendemeer - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

March 2, 2021

Day 16: Tamworth to Bendemeer

Start: 6:20am
Distance: 41kms
Ride time: 3:25hrs
Average: 12km/hr
Max: 56km/hr 
Finish: 11:25am

Yesterday, I purchased some milk for breakfast and two salad rolls for today. I put them in the camp kitchen fridge overnight. 

This morning I went to retrieve the items only to find they had locked the camp kitchen door. It was only then that I saw a sign which said it was open 7am-10pm. Bummer.

I was proud of myself for getting up early in preparation for the big hills so I didn't want to sit around and wait for someone to unlock the door. 

I wonder how mouldy it will get before someone throws it out?

I hit the road and stopped at a servo on the outskirts of town. I had a bacon and egg roll for breaky and bought two sandwiches for lunch. 

Morning view of the hills I'm about to climb.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I came upon some roadworks. Only one lane was open for a few hundred metres and stop/go men were managing the traffic.

I spoke to the man to make sure it was okay for me to proceed and he said 'yes'. Then when I was halfway through, the man at the other end of the roadworks, for some unknown reason, let the oncoming traffic through. They were headed straight for me, in the same lane as I.

So it was a little unnerving as I kept riding while the oncoming car drivers gesticulated at me, and slowly moved over a little to allow me to pass.

I contemplated expressing my displeasure at the stop/man and decided it wasn't worth my time. I just kept pedalling slowly onwards. 

Further on down the road there were more roadworks, with more incompetent stop/go men. They couldn't comprehend a cyclist takes longer to go through the roadworks than a car. 

That's my rant over for today. 

A random chicken in Moonbi.
Heart 8 Comment 0

I bought a juice in a shop and the man serving me was surprised when I said what direction I was headed. He said I was in for a 'rude shock'.

The hills were long and big. This is a view looking backwards.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Kerrie McCarthySome massive hills let alone on a pushbike ✋👍 well done Vince
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you aunty. Hopefully all of the big hills are behind me now.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

I climbed a total of 627 metres which is a lot for my lazy legs. I was jubilant when I reached the top.

Arrival to town.
Heart 6 Comment 0

There isn't much here. A campground and a pub. There will be more hills tomorrow so I decided to stop for the day. Yesterday wasn't much of a rest day and I should take it easy after donating plasma. 

I spent the arvo reading and eating hot cross buns I bought yesterday. 

MacDonald River
Heart 5 Comment 0
This llama kept a close watch on me while I was hanging up my washing.
Heart 4 Comment 0
$10
Heart 5 Comment 0
Pub pizza for dinner.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Deleted AccountThat Pizza looks bloody good - trips going well!
Cheers,

Andrew
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Andrew, the pizza was awesome. It was vegetarian. The only thing on the pub menu that had vegetables.

I ate it all except for one piece.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

Today's ride: 41 km (25 miles)
Total: 842 km (523 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Dave ErtelHey Mate
If you are riding to Uralla and onwards to Armidale, you don't have to ride the main highway. Years ago we rode this route with a road called Hawthorn Road being really amazing in the fall colours. Search for Hawthorn and you can be on mostly sealed, traffic free country roads.
Good luck...
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Ken McCarthyHey Vince, I finally remembered to check your progress when I didn't have to be somewhere else shortly after. So I have spent a relaxing non-tiring 842km travelling with you. It's great to see your coping well, getting fitter and taking it all in and within yourself. Every hill is a victory Yeh!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo Dave ErtelHi Dave, thank you for your suggestion. I had a quick look this morning for Hawthorn Road and I couldn't find it? And there was no parallel road on my Hema map either.
The highway wasn't too bad anyway.
Cheers
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo Ken McCarthyThank you cool uncle. Rest easy and I'll do a few more kms for you.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago