Day 150: Rest day - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

July 9, 2021

Day 150: Rest day

I was up early to be at the boat cruise departure by 6:45am.

I helped myself to an instant coffee and a croissant. 


There were about 20 people on the 2 hour dawn cruise tour.

It was very smelly waiting for our departure. There were thousands of bats settling down for the day. Bats are stinky. 

Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 8 Comment 0
White-faced heron.
Heart 7 Comment 0

White-faced heron.

There was lots of rocks in the river so we had to get off our first boat and walk 500 metres down the river to a second boat.

This rock art is 8,000 years old.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 1
Kerrie McCarthySo many colours ❤️🙏
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 9 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
This guy is just a big friendly freshie.
Heart 7 Comment 0

The boat ride was very scenic and I'm glad I went.

A wallaby munching on the green grass back at the campground.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I spent the rest of the day doing some math and deciding what my next move will be.

Some workings.
Heart 6 Comment 2
Rita McCarthyThe teacher in me is impressed you still do cursive writing as well as of course, how you organise your trips.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you. My writing is messy because I don't do it often enough these days.
The planning is essential to prevent running out of food and water etc. I'm in good stead for next year.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Heart 1 Comment 0

I underestimated how long it will take me to do this ride. Even taking into account not doing Cape York, I am 8 weeks behind my ideal timeline.

If I were to continue the ride at this pace I would arrive home on 3 January 2022. This would include having a headwind across the Nullarbor and cycling in the hot months of November and December. 

So this means that I would likely suspend the ride at Perth.

An option is to continue waiting in Katherine for the Western Australian and Northern Territory border to open. The government hasn't stated when this will occur.

If I continue to wait in Katherine, I will get further behind schedule. 

Futhermore, Gomer's passing has been tough on Serena and I.

With all of these things considered, I've decided to suspend my ride in Katherine and return home. 

I have a cultural experience to do on Sunday, 6kms out of Katherine and that will be the last time I ride my bike on this trip.

I have a phobia of large airports so I won't be flying home. On Monday I will catch a bus to Darwin to get a hire car and then begin the 4,000km drive home.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 15
Kerrie McCarthyToday’s pics were amazing, the colours WOW… You’ll get there Vince, and do what’s right for you and Serena, much love 💗 I’ve thoroughly enjoyed following your ride 😘
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Annie O'SheaSo sorry to hear you've decided to finish your ride but you've done a wonderful job having come so far. I feel you've made the right decision to stop, there will be other opportunities to complete the journey. Serena will be happy to see you. Take care
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Daniel Van IngenSo proud of you buddy my thoughts are with you both
Travel safe buddy
Speak soon Daniel
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rita McCarthyBest wishes to You Vince. You’re done an amazing ride to get as far as you have.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Toby TesterThis is a big decision Vince. Losing your dog is terrible. Then we have this covid thing which is simply lousy for all of us. Resume the trip from Katherine later this year or early next?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Mike AylingThe right decision under very trying circumstances Vince.
I look forward to you resuming the ride at some stage in the future.

MIKE
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo Kerrie McCarthyThank you Kerrie.
It's been great having you with me.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo Annie O'SheaThank you Mum. xox
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo Daniel Van IngenThank you buddy.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo Rita McCarthyThank you. 7,000kms on a touring bike, in this country, is a fair dinkum effort I reckon.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo Mike AylingThank you Mike.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo Toby TesterThank you Toby.
I hope to resume this ride from Katherine about 1 June 2022.
Cheers
Vince
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Mark LampardHi Vince,

I have been following you from the UK since the start of your trip, really loved your photos and regular updates. I have previously driven around Australia twice in a 4x4 campervan, so I recognise many of the campsites you have stopped at. I drove the Telegraph track to Cape York and think you were wise to skip that part. I was waiting to see how you managed the Pentecost River crossing on the Gibb River Road! I wish you well and hope you manage to return to Katherine next year to complete your Journey.

Mark
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo Mike AylingThank you Mike. Me too.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo Mark LampardThanks very much for coming along the journey with me Mark.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago