Day 149: Katherine to Katherine Gorge - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

July 8, 2021

Day 149: Katherine to Katherine Gorge

Start: 10am
Distance: 30kms
Ride time: 2:02hrs
Average: 15km/hr
Max: 31km/hr 
Finish: 12:30pm
Temp: 14-33C

I checked out at 10am and started pedalling. It was nice to have somewhere to ride to. 

It was hot and there was no headwind. 

A section of the road with a wide shoulder.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Maud Creek.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Without too much effort I arrived at the National Park.
Heart 5 Comment 0
There were many bats in the trees.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Rita McCarthyWe remember the bats. They can get very smelly.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
My first camp site was shaded with no grass. It was close to the road which created dust whenever a car went by.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After a more thorough look around the very large campground, I saw a few people camping on nice green grass in an area not designated for camping.

I was willing to take the gamble so I took the pegs out of my tent and carried it to the new spot.

$23/night.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I'll stay here for two nights. There is a small cafe at the visitor centre. Phone reception is poor.

Next to the nice and popular pool is a temporary kitchen that does basic meals for dinner. I had my favourite of barra and veggies.

Today's ride: 30 km (19 miles)
Total: 6,986 km (4,338 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0