D5: Fangcheng City to Dongxing City - Tetchy Days in Vietnam - CycleBlaze

February 8, 2018

D5: Fangcheng City to Dongxing City

Heart 0 Comment 0

There are two roads from Fangcheng to Dongxing and I'm on the one I didn't take from Fangcheng to Dongxing in 2006. Twelve years ago, when I got to the bike shop in Dongxing, they weren't there because they'd gone riding out to meet me on this road. Because it was obvious that no cyclist would deliberately take that road. But no one told me. I didn't know. I had no reason to know. 

I know now, however.  And knowing now means that finally, finally, for once on this trip, I manage to get some consistent scenery with neither dust, smoke, nor trucks. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
First sign of Vietnamese
Heart 0 Comment 0
A village named Fort. No forts visible even on satellite view.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The burning garbage pits like this one really do a number on my lungs
Heart 0 Comment 0

The weather continues to be gorgeous everywhere that I'm not and not gorgeous everywhere I am but I'm only wearing long tights, two jerseys and a vest. The thermals are actually packed away. At least temporarily. I'm begging the weather gods to please please please follow the weather report for once because I really don't want to haul my thermals around with me for a month plus in Vietnam and I also don't want to pay the cost of internationally shipping them home.

Heart 0 Comment 0


While buying some dextromethorphan cough syrup at the pharmacy in the morning, I talk myself into also buying a pee stick for peace of mind. It ends up reading "inconclusive" so, as a result, my mind is not at all peaceful. I end up buying three more sticks to test three more times and manage to get all three of the other possible results ("no", "error", and "yes").

The only possible positive I see out of the possibility that I might be positive is that I'm discovering it while I'm still in China and going to a doctor means we'll both speak the same language. 

This trip is really turning out to be unpleasant.

Heart 0 Comment 0
I originally misidentified these guys as a warrior and a scholar. They are actually a general and an emperor.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 73 km (45 miles)
Total: 280 km (174 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0