D4: Port of Qinzhou to Fangcheng City - Tetchy Days in Vietnam - CycleBlaze

February 7, 2018

D4: Port of Qinzhou to Fangcheng City

Drive safely, dangerous road section
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not all of the trucks secure their loads properly and there is a lot of dust
Heart 0 Comment 0

I am so glad I downloaded a bunch of Escape Pod to listen to over the hotel wifi last night. I'd desperately hoped that there might be some way across to the other side of the bay that didn't involve land transportation but, no such luck. Therefore, I have found myself, pretty much all day on a constant unending stretch of straight-ish broad divided highway with trucks, dust, and headwind. Not even any particularly interesting scenery to speak of. If it weren't Day 4 of the trip, I might consider taking a bus but I'm still in that training off months worth of inactivity stage of touring and, right now "but I don't want to" is the number one reason why I ought to.

I was so hopeful when the GPS took me off the big road and sent me down this track. Unfortunately, it was just shortcutting to give me a kilometer less distance.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The "multifunctional snack cart" where I bought my midmorning brunch
Heart 0 Comment 0
Shennong Temple
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Scholar Official Bureaucrat
Heart 0 Comment 0
Whoever this guy is, he's a very local god of some sort. I can't say as I specifically remember seeing any shirtless main statues prior to this.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This Guanyin statue has pierced ears
Heart 0 Comment 0
Generic store bought God of Wealth in the left hand side chamber
Heart 0 Comment 0
Remnants of an old farmhouse
Heart 1 Comment 0

The last 9 or 10 kilometers after Maoling got something that almost might maybe be described as scenery if you squint hard. At least they got it without a headwind anyways.

Heart 0 Comment 0
No matter how much I want a meal, I don't want it enough to go to a place that advertises both dog and cat meat
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

One of the stories I listened to was Connie Willis's Even the Queen which, despite being a little dated from having been written in 1992, is still a fabulous laugh. It got me counting days on my fingers, though. I'm on birth control but, shouldn't I have had my period by now?

Today's ride: 61 km (38 miles)
Total: 207 km (129 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0