Deep, Deep into Than Hua - 11 Days in Vietnam - CycleBlaze

April 26, 2017

Deep, Deep into Than Hua

Heart 0 Comment 0

The ferry, a single engine, shallow water craft, easily accommodated the two bicycles, and one motorbike, a 125cc Honda, occupied by a family of four, which was due solely to the svelt physics of the adults, and the age, approximately 2 years and 8 months, of the children, who possibly could be twins. We pushed off from the dock at exactly 1:07 PM, as the air, weighed down mighty by a languid humidity, that dripped from the trees, as if Spanish moss on an oak tree at a Georgian plantation house. The captain, a man with powerful thighs, and keen eyesight, took control of the craft, and took dead aim, in the same way Michael Jordan would, of the opposite shore.


As the shallow bottom craft progressed, in my mind I began to worry of the unpredictable weather and the effects it would have on the crossing. Is that a slight chop that I felt or did we just run over a turtle? The shallow bottom riverine craft put it's head down and continued to push forward. I thought back at the days events. Of noodles eaten and kilometers cycled. The smile on my face could have been from thinking of the pho from breakfast, but in reality, I know not why the Neddy smiles. It most likely comes from the fact that my smile was built into my face the same way an engine is built into a car.


"Brace! Brace! Brace!" I scream. We are going to slam into the shore! This is going to hurt. No one on the boat understands for they are all Vietnamese. The captain, with his hands worn by years on the open water, slows the vessel, we slide in sideways to the dock, and exit the craft when safe to do so.


I ride to Thanh Hoa City.

Today's ride: 61 km (38 miles)
Total: 240 km (149 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0