Day 6 - Fall Afresh - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

January 25, 2024

Day 6 - Fall Afresh

Not the day I was expecting. But I wouldn’t change a thing. Woke up in the night due to someone pulling into the cemetery where we were camping and me getting absolutely spooked. Still got good sleep. Packed up my stuff and dad packed up the car so he was ready to leave. We sat in the truck for a little and I wanted to delay the inevitable as much as I possibly could. Felt like time was very much against me. The closer the clock got to 8:00 the more nervous/scared I became. Finally it was time. Dad followed me out and I was fighting back tears the whole time. Still blown away I didn’t cry. Felt like he carried a reminder of everyone else I’ve left and was pretty sad for the opening 20 miles. Stopped for lunch around 50 and was the exact opposite. I was excited, overwhelmed with joy, but still nervous. Stopped again at 78 and again at 93 to receive so many emails of people giving money for food. It’s hard to find words for how grateful I am. Thank you to everyone that put a smile on my face today. Whether you sent a video that made my day so much better, called me, texted me, gave money, or prayed for me. Thank you. It made today so much easier. It’ll make tomorrow that much more enjoyable. And it’ll make the rest of the trip that much more attainable. Once I got to Saint George Island I saw a bald eagle’s nest and they were out hunting. Ate my freeze-dried meal right outside a Subway and it was tempting to go in but I’ll save the money from you all for a different time. Really good day again. Not too lonely. Excited for tomorrow. 

Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 9 Comment 0
Heart 10 Comment 4
Tony SeisserYou two are half men half amazing!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Dena HowserAwesome picture!! Love following along Jude!! You’ve got this!! Praying for you and your journey!! -Mrs Howser
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jude HubbardTo Dena HowserThank you so much Mrs. Howser!! Thank you also for the very kind cash you all gave :)
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jude HubbardTo Tony SeisserHaha preciate it Tony!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 101 miles (163 km)
Total: 481 miles (774 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltAs an experienced cycle tour guy (first was as a lone 17 year old back in 1963) it might be good to hold onto the freeze dried stuff for emergencies when you don't have anywhere within a day's travel to buy anything, and there are stretches like that.

Go for it!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Noah Dennis103 miles you're a beast Jude. Praying for you bro. (This is Noah btw)
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jude HubbardThanks Noah. You’ve been really good friend.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago