Day 5 - I Wanna Remember - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

January 24, 2024

Day 5 - I Wanna Remember

Sorry it took me forever to upload. I may not post until lunch/dinner of the following day from now on. But enjoy my journal entry from 1/24. Riding was so easy with the tailwind. Stopped 20 miles in for breakfast. Went another 10 and we were going to go to a state park to see manatees but the water was too brown. 30 more brought us to lunch and with the sun out and 80° weather we finally started sweating. This is now the good part of the story. I forgot dad was leaving me after lunch at the gas station so it was sad to see him leave but we’re staying at the same place tonight then he’ll leave tomorrow morning so that’s good. He left the gas station and I went to the bathroom. I come out and two men maybe 40 years old were looking at me. They came over and were asking questions and pointed out I had a flat. I called dad and asked if they’d be willing to help me out and they happily agreed. I found out they were from Germany and had very thick accents and were here for work. Some of the nicest people I’ve met. Both started 3-4 businesses separately but have been friends for awhile. Look up ottoBulletproof on YouTube and go follow him. It’s in German but he deserves some more followers for how nice he is. Talked with them for awhile and they were impressed by me and I was in shock by them. Packed things up after stopping for close to 2 hours. Got on the road. Alone this time. Felt weird but excited for what’s to come. It’s weird that this was somewhat of a “warmup”. Still trying to make it to AR. Was able to wrap my head around what I’m doing for a short time. Which probably sounds strange that I’m experiencing this first hand and I still can’t even begin to understand what I’m doing. Spent the next 35 miles so grateful for the pure kindness of Otto and Pascal who pretty much put my tube on for me. Between David (guy at church) and Otto and Pascal I’ve met some truly inspiring people. Can’t wait for what else this trip is going to bring. Dad leaves tomorrow morning so I’ll have the whole day on my own. And the next few weeks. Can’t wait for what’s going to happen tomorrow. 

Heart 5 Comment 2
Becky SandbergJude- Thankful for Otto and Pascal. Praying for the Lord to keep sending kind people along your journey. You did a lot of great riding today. Praying for a good night of sleep for you! Love, Mimi
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jude HubbardTo Becky SandbergThank you Mimi. I’m excited to get to bed!!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 8 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 96 miles (154 km)
Total: 380 miles (612 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 13
Comment on this entry Comment 0