Days 71 - 73 - My Worth Is Not in What I Own - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

April 8, 2024 to April 10, 2024

Days 71 - 73 - My Worth Is Not in What I Own

This journal is going to be much different than expected. I thought I’d have 55 hours of sitting on a train to have some wisdom or some intelligent thing to say. But I don’t. It’s been a hard past few days to go from biking for a majority of my day to sitting and walking a few steps to the observation deck. And getting outside every few hours. I don’t think humans are designed for train travel. People were amazed when I stepped on the train in Seattle that I was going to Chicago. I also saw Uncle Roger and Andrew again at my layover. That was such a gift. I don’t know what I would’ve done if I hadn’t met up with them there. I’m still blown away that we both happened to be there at the same time. As I sat in the train either staring at the mountains or watching trashy movies as I would pass through the plains I recalled a few memories. There were two guys arguing on the first night of this train ride. One guy was on a call and wouldn’t shut up as it was 11:30 and people were trying to sleep. He decided to move and sat right behind me. I couldn’t sleep anymore. It made me go back to Texas. I’m still so thankful that I was kept safe that night. And then I got lonely on the train as there was no one fun to talk to. It made me go back to Oklahoma. How alone I felt. But I met people from Grandview Church, AJ, and so many people prayed for me. As alone as I was the rest of my trip besides Dad joining me I never felt that lonesome feeling for almost the entire rest of the trip. As I talked to very few people but some that have asked me about my journey and one thing I always say is that I’m so grateful to have this opportunity. I probably should’ve kept a better list of how I could clearly see God on this trip but if you ask me I could easily pick something so clear to me from each day. So now I have a lot of thanking to do. Thanking God for keeping me safe on this train as well as Texas. Putting some remarkable people into my days in Oklahoma. For having a dad that is willing to take 11 days to fly out on his birthday and be with me. For being completely alone but having a feeling of comfort. For this opportunity that I was given to graduate high school when I did and to have this opportunity. There’s a lot more I could put in here. With things to be grateful for, things I learned, things I now feel but I’ve had enough of me lately. So now it’s time to focus on everyone else that read these and prayed so much. 

I don’t even know where to start. But I really do hope that I wouldn’t have been able to do this without everyone back home. From everyone that gave me a call or sending me a text. It would make me so happy to be able to have a conversation with people that understood me or to have some of the most amazing texts sent to me that would put a smile on my face for the entire day. That happened many times. I loved Sundays. I got to hear back from home about so many people that have been praying for me. I was able to feel at peace knowing my church back home filled with so many people that know me are taking the time to pray for me. I think this is going to take too long to list everyone and what they all did to get me to where I am so I’ll just categorize it and thank you all later in person. 

I was able to sleep in a house many nights which was a blessing to have a shower, sometimes a bed, a meal, and someone to talk to. So thanks to the Dennett’s, Ayo, the Clarkson’s, Deji, the Sandberg’s, and Jim and Rinna. I think that’s everyone. But let me know if I forgot you. 

I was also given a meal by so many people. By Kathleen, Ben, Grandview church, René, Gene and Diane, Sky & Sunshine & Rain, and then the Sandbergs once again in Seattle. I’m convinced you guys timed it perfectly just to get me more food. Once again, let me know if I forgot you. 

And now onto the people that have given me money. I’m still blown away by this. And I want you guys to know this is incredible. But I was given almost $2000 for this trip. I made money off of this trip. WHAT?????!!!!!! That is truly incredible. I’ll probably still look back at this list in awe. So here we go. It’s in no particular order so don’t get offended if you’re not the first name lol. 

The Anderson Family, The Smith Family, The Bernstetter Family, Jeff Potter, Mr. Bradford and Mrs. Melinda - 3 times, The Neibch Family, Dave & Deb - twice, Kara - twice, The Roberts Family - twice, Debbie, The Dennis Family - twice, The Bernstetter Family, The Todd Family, Grace, The Anthony Family, Mr. & Mrs. Martindale, Andrew, The Sanders Family, The Howser Family - twice, Tony, The David Family, The Bonga Family, Greg & Lynda, Mimi and Papa - too many times to count, Todd, The Youngstedt Family, Bess, Tomika, El Dorado Baptist Church, Greg, Cindy, Grandview Baptist Church, The Dennett Family, and The Sandberg Family. I know there is one person that I’m forgetting. So if it’s you let me know and I’ll add you. This is quite the list and I will always be grateful when I look back at it. 

Now my parents. I still can’t believe they supported me through all of this. Even when I would call them broken down and annoyed by them (it was really just my mood), when they would get me a hotel whenever I needed when, when mom let dad join me for two different portions, and for losing so much sleep for me. I know for a fact if they weren’t as supportive and connected I wouldn’t have been able to do this. Thanks for always putting up with me in whatever mood I’m in. I know there’s a lot more people to thank but I’ll do that in person. And there’s a lot more people that I wouldn’t even know to thank which is incredible that so many people prayed for me probably without even knowing me all that well. I’m sad this is over but I’m happy to be home soon. I’m really hoping to do more bike packing trips so stay tuned for another journal 😂

Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0