Day 70 - Overwhelming - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

April 7, 2024

Day 70 - Overwhelming

I feel so torn with emotions. I was so sad waking up this morning because it was my last morning in my tent. But I was also so motivated because I’m so close. It’s a really strange feeling. Both things feel so right. But I rolled out of my sleeping bag and packed up. It felt sad. Then once I got started biking I was much more at peace to be closer to home. Nothing much happened. I chased blue skies all the way. Pushed it to make it to the ferry on time and to beat the rain. I did! Only 5 drizzles. Amazing. Then I got to the ferry with an hour and a half to spare and then it started to rain. What a blessing. Collard mom and dad for awhile and looked at all the food. Mmmmm. I’m ready for it to be free. Thanks Mom. I met Sarah and Matt. They are on a big tour. Very impressive. I had some high quality tortillas and sausage 🤢. I’m ready for that to be done. I was exhausted on the ferry. And once again so stressed out. It’s such an odd feeling. I don’t exactly know why. But yesterday and today I could barely even sit. Even though I was so tried. We’ll see how a 50 hour train ride goes 🥴. Got off and got to the hotel. Had the closest call yet. Some dude passed within 2 inches of my handlebars. That was scary!!! Vancouver drivers seem kinda blind even the bikers are everywhere! Cars had to honk at other cars to alert them of me 3 different times in the 15 miles. Bruh. Let’s open our eyes a bit. Made it to the hotel and stripped my bike of all its packs. It looks naked. I’m ready to ride it fast ;) Procrastinated for awhile after calling mom and dad then showered and called Grace. Made my way to dinner and shockingly was able to talk to JT. I thought I ran out of minutes on my plan 🤷. Dinner was so good!! Root beer float, fries, and burger. it was so big and SO GOOD!!! Then I indulged. Got myself a large milkshake. So good. Walked back and called mom and dad for awhile. Gotta pack then get some sleep before my last day to the train station. This doesn’t feel real. 

Heart 1 Comment 0
I was sad
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
I found this funny. Drop off/pick up. Thanks dad for dropping me off. In Florida
Heart 2 Comment 0
It was strange. This is where all the cars were but I was on way before. I got lost so many times. Such a massive ship
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 2
Tony SeisserSo cool! Nice job. CONGRATS!!!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jude HubbardTo Tony SeisserThank you Tony!! I planning to come into the office sometime soon :)
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Once again, thank you Mrs. Martindale
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 63 miles (101 km)
Total: 5,078 miles (8,172 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Tessa ArensenDear Jude,
All my Canadian friends are telling me you need to stop by a Tim Horton's before you go back to the US. You can only get it in Canada. I am so proud of you and wish I was there to see you. We're praying for you in Kenya as you finish this wonderful experience. Miss you every day! Your cousin,
Tessa
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jude HubbardTo Tessa ArensenHey Tessa!!! I was really trying to stop by a Tim Hortons but I sadly had to get on my train :( Thank you for praying and I’ll see you in a couple months at the wedding!!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago