Day 69 - Island Song - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

April 6, 2024

Day 69 - Island Song

Thanks William. You did a good job with the songs. Even if I hated some of them. Today was another long day. But a really good day. I woke up. Snoozed through all 4 alarms that my best friend Siri set. I’m gonna miss you 😢. I got out of my sleeping bag and moved quick. Heck yeah. That felt good. For some reason they shut off all the spigots in the state park. So I got going after a big breakfast. I went one mile to the grocery store. Annnnnddddddd………..I fell!!! My shoe was stuck. I called my parents and dad thinks the bolt is loose. Oh well. I got a good system of taking my shoe off on my bike and hopping around until I get my running shoe on. Yeah I look like a loser with two different shoes on. I’m gonna miss the stares. I’m gonna miss all the people that get me out here. Me. But I’ll have another post for this. I cooked it pretty good cause I was worried I wouldn’t make the ferry. Called mom and dad a few times. Got pretty bored so just scrolled aimlessly on my phone. I’m getting really good at this whole being on your phone while riding. I called Aidan. Miss you buddy. Had lots of rollers which were meh. I was tired and didn’t want to fight them. But I had to. There was a decent looking bike path that looked cool so kinda wish I’d hopped on that at times. I’m ready to go a day and not be honked at. The simple things in life. Some dude passed me on the downhill. I wasn’t pedaling and was ashamed at myself that I let some bummy biker pass me. So I easily cruised past him as he was working so hard. Felt good. Felt fit. Made it and bought my ticket. With two different shoes. Now I just look straight up homeless. There was a bike shop .3 away so I stopped there. He was so nice. Affirmed that the bike shop dude in Astoria that claimed he was the best was really the worst. He got me set up so well to finish off this trip well. Went back to the ferry. Grace called. Good to catch up. Got on the ferry. Met 2 people with packs on their bikes. They asked where I was from. Chicago. They thought that was a far way away to be traveling from. So I told them I started in Florida. That shut them up. They drove from Portland to here and were just gonna ride around Victoria. Nice. They were telling me how to do things. Grrrrr. I know I’m incompetent but there is this thing called experience. I called Mimi and papa on the ferry. Can’t wait to see you guys in person. The ferry was fine. I was quite stressed. Hoping the train isn’t like that. Got outside and felt much better. Had my tortillas and PB for the entire ship to see 💪. Couple hundred people. Let’s go. Got off. Interrogated by the customs dude. More “helpful tips” from the people riding around Victoria. I know how to turn my lights on but thanks for showing me the button. I was tired. Debated on just getting a hotel in Victoria. Called dad. Got some things figured out. Felt a bit better. Hopped on the highway. It was fine. Entertained by Canadian signs. It’s so bike friendly it’s amazing. They had bike lanes on almost every road and so many bike paths. But everyone has a battery. Whatever. At least I’m getting a workout. The highway was nice. Pretty hilly. Got up to 1100’+. I stopped for one of my first times to talk a picture. I feel like I’m really enjoying it. It’s just joy riding. I stopped a few miles later. Or kilometers. Took more pictures. Got to my campsite and I got cell!! Called mom and dad until my time ran out on the account. Oh well. I’ll get WiFi sometime soon hopefully. The park guy came and I paid! First time since just north of LA. Quite nice. I was so happy to give him money cause he was so nice about it. I like Canadians. Set up camp and wrote this. Only a couple more! Less than 75 miles!!!!!! I’m gonna miss this. Hopefully I don’t talk to Siri again 🙄. It rained a wee bit today too. I can’t remember if I already said that tho. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 84 miles (135 km)
Total: 5,015 miles (8,071 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0