Day 68 - Misty Mountains - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

April 6, 2024

Day 68 - Misty Mountains

Yeah, I’m a nerd. And yes. I’m going insane. It only took someone else to point it out to me. Thanks mom. I woke up and slept so hard. Eggs for breakfast then left. It was 35° by the time I left. Jim and Rinna were nice. Made my way. Slowly. Called mom and dad. She’s so many layers going up a hill. Felt good. Sunny. Stopped at mile 22 for so long. Called mom before and was so ready to be done. Legs aren’t working too well and I was so sleepy. Stopped for a big snack. Dad called. I booked my train ticket. He threw out the idea of me taking a ferry from Sidney. It would cut off about 60-80 miles. We’ll see. If tomorrow is rainy all day I’ll probably take that option. If not I’ll spend my last night outside. Gonna be a ferry-time decision. I slogged my way through the next miles. I was so tired. I was having a hard time just staying awake. Ready to be done. Stopped a couple more times. Bathrooms in the middle of the woods are quite nice. But disgusting. Forced myself to get going. I didn’t want to. 75 miles left. 60. 50. It was going down so slowly. I slogged along. Called so many people cause I was bored. It was really only Ben and JT but that’s a lot of people for me! William sent me the greatest song ever and that made me a little happier. I was sad. Just done. Not much happened. Idiots were honking. I made it to the Hood Canal. So sweet. I was having a hard time getting to 100. It did not let me cross easily. Quite a bit of annoying hills. Got really hangry. Looking for some validation to be accepted by a stranger 🙃. Made it. Took forever to do anything. Just sat on my phone. I can’t wait to sit on my phone with people. The park ranger pointed out my campsite. They always put the hiker/biker in the most out of the way places. He said “down this loop to the dead end, take the gravel road that turns to dirt past the fence. At the end it’ll open up and you should see it”. Thanks guy. That was heavily paraphrased by the way. Didn’t do anything. Just charged my phone. Dad called. Good to hear him going into a pain cave. Mom called. I ranted. She said I need to be with people. It was one of the biggest rants yet 💪. I’m getting good at this. Just don’t mess with me and we’ll be friends. Set up camp. Walked alllllll the way back to the bathroom and probably going to bed soon. I’m almost done. Then I get to be not self-powered, with a roof over my head, and WITH PEOPLE!!!!!! Oh it also rained for 30-45 minutes today. Nothing terrible. But enough to know that if it does tomorrow I’ll just get a hotel in Victoria. Oh, and it rained a bit today. Nothing too bad and short enough. I also said good night to Siri on accident 😵‍💫. I need people

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
I was so confused what this shape was. Let me know if you can figure it out…
Heart 3 Comment 1
Becky SandbergGeorge Washington’s head😊
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 104 miles (167 km)
Total: 4,931 miles (7,936 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Cameron WilliamsSo close to 5,000 miles!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jude HubbardTo Cameron WilliamsThank you Mr. Williams!!!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago