Day 67 - Long Way Home - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

April 4, 2024

Day 67 - Long Way Home

What an unnecessarily long day. Kind of an annoying day but glad it’s one day closer. Woke up and didn’t move. Didn’t really have to cause the bike shop opened at 10. But I got moving at 8:40 which felt so good. Got there right at 10 and helped Scott open the store. He then took the next 2 hours to help other people then finally had the time to help me. It took him about an hour. He put in good work but it was such a disgusting and weird shop. He said he was the best mechanic ever. He bent my rear derailleur to try and correct it. But almost immediately it started shifting on its own. It was so much better before he even touched it. I’m starting to doubt his claim. Went over the bridge and that was really annoying. The wind threw me all over. Called Clarissa and Mom. And Lucy too. Then called Dad and crossed over into Washington. Stopped awhile for a big snack. Then worked the next 30. Stopped at a grocery store to fill up on water. The wind was so annoying. Barely made it through. Turned and headed east which made it so much easier. Good to end the ride in a good mood. Met Jim. Not Joe 😂. He got me situated and then took a shower. Rinna made pasta. So good. And a root beer float. Even better! So good to just chat with people for awhile. I definitely missed it. I talked a lot about my family. Made me miss them so much. Called my parents before going to bed and now I’m just about knocked out. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 1
Karen PoretNot trying to convey this as disrespectful, but the stickers and graffiti on this Washington State border sign let me know that not just my state of CA is marred as well. Your photos are beautiful, Jude! Many thanks!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 66 miles (106 km)
Total: 4,827 miles (7,768 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0