Day 66 - Boldly I Approach - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

April 3, 2024

Day 66 - Boldly I Approach

The art of celebration. I can’t tell if today was a sad or happy. Sad to leave family but happy to approach the end. I think I amazed the Sandbergs with my eating skills. I cleaned out their pantry and fridge pretty good. So fun to be with them. It was hard leaving but easy knowing that it’s 6 more days away. Called mom. Papa called. And Luke called. Then called mom again. Stopped at McDonald’s. Then my brain crashed pretty hard. I was tired. I could not get myself moving. I love having the sun out so long so that I have all day. Stopped at 48 for too long cause mom called. She thought I died. Nope. Just taking my time. It started to drizzle so I bundled up. It was chilly. And rainy. The bike path was chill. A little bumpy and annoying with having such a small but long incline. Made me very angry. Stopped with 27 miles left and realized my spoke broke. Called dad and the bike shop I’ll go to tomorrow. Just praying my wheel doesn’t crumple in the next 18 miles. Climbed and then a good descent. Felt really cautious with my wheel. Had an insane but short climb. Then down to the Columbia. Chill riding. Called dad, Primrose, and Clarissa. So good to get some motivation up the last hill. Made it to the campsite and my wheel is still ok! Only 18 more questionable miles to the bike shop in Astoria. Praying it’ll last. It’s only me here! And one dude with a fire. He said it’s safe. Some people might come in the night but he said the Sheriff comes as well to make sure it’s safe. Called mom and dad once more and wrote this. Hopefully I’ll be able to feel a bit more awake tomorrow. Should be a chill day. 18 to Astoria. Then a 4 mile bridge and the. 35 to South Bend. I met some people back in Wickenburg, AZ that were traveling the US. They are from South Bend. They gave me their number and I texted them so I’ll get a bed, shower, laundry, and a meal tomorrow. Looking forward to it. But for now….good night. 

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 92 miles (148 km)
Total: 4,761 miles (7,662 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0