Day 7 - Wasteland - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

January 26, 2024

Day 7 - Wasteland

Felt really good this morning. It was so nice to wake up and bike past the house we stayed in last Spring Break. Made it so easy to be familiar with it all. Legs felt very fatigued though. Probably from a lack of training leading up to this. Not too much traffic the first 40 but then quite a bit the last 80. Lots of road construction left me in pretty dicey situations. I don’t even want to know how close some of those cars got to me. Panama City was a nice area and then Rosemary Beach blew me away with how nice it was. I don’t even want to know it costs to vacation there. Got to Grayton State Park and the man at the front was rude and condescending probably because of my age. He said there was no place to stay but I proved him wrong. I read about a FL law that said State Parks will not turn away cyclists/hikers if there is no space so I read it to him then he became very friendly. A little frustrating but felt good to prove him wrong that I am actually somewhat competent. Took awhile to set up the tent but a lot of stuff is wet due to not much sun and rain most nights/mornings. Next few day might be pretty brutal. Little nervous about Mississippi but we gotta get through Alabama first :)

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 1
Kevin ToddFuture lawyer? Well done.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
“Spring break down in Panama City”
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Sunrise from my tent ❤️
Heart 13 Comment 0

Today's ride: 120 miles (193 km)
Total: 601 miles (967 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 14
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Becky Sandberg120.7 miles today! That is remarkable, Jude! Praying for you Jude!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Bethany DennisJude- You are amazing! We love following you along your journey (Asher is especially thrilled by your adventures). Praying for you each day and love how you’ve already seen God provide and protect. Praying for protection today from the storms!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Tony SeisserHey Jude, Keep the pictures coming. Beautiful shots! Have Fun. : )
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
samantha DavidYOU ARE KILLING IT JUDE!!!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jude HubbardTo Bethany DennisThank you Mrs. Dennis!! I’ve already promised many people I’ll take them in a trip like this so I’ll add Asher to the list :)
Reply to this comment
3 months ago