Day 8 - Sweet Home Alabama - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

January 27, 2024

Day 8 - Sweet Home Alabama

Another late post :/ Had a whirlwind of a day. Woke up and was not having it. The last few days I’ve been wanting a rest day but today I knew it was time to get one soon. Took me about two and a half hours to get camp taken down and getting ready to go. Once I got going everything was much better. Some tailwind but really foggy and it seemed like I was just waiting for the rain to come. Stopped around 45 to put my rain jacket on and it was dumping buckets on me. About 15 miles later I heard a ribbing in my tires. I was so disappointed. I pulled over and found out my front tire got flat. Luckily a bike shop was a mile away if I had any trouble. Pulled out the trail mix and went to work and it amazingly went on easy. Nothing I could’ve done there. Stopped at the bike shop and Eric and Karen were the nicest people. Truly were genuine in wanting to help me and gave me many useful tips and weren’t simply telling me how to do things which I was grateful for. After I left the shop I felt a stiff headwind. Knew it would not be fun but simply powered through. Last 18 miles were straight west and when I checked my weather app at the campsite the wind was blowing 10-14 mph west to east with gusts a little over 20. Not fun to end a day on that but then in the last two miles there was an amazing sunset and I realized I biked across the entire state of Florida and there was no way a little bit of wind was going to take that away from me. Somehow after all that when I go to remember yesterday, it was an amazing day. Excited for a day off tomorrow. 

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 105 miles (169 km)
Total: 706 miles (1,136 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 0