Day 46 - All Night - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

March 14, 2024

Day 46 - All Night

Repacking
Heart 1 Comment 0

Hmmmm. I’m gonna need to figure out my sleep. I got less than 5 hours last night. That puts me under 10 hours for the last 2 nights now. I was up for a few hours in the night which isn’t normal. Went back to bed around 4 and slept till 6 or so. I was slow moving. I was tired. But I couldn’t sleep. It was weird. I planned out a run in the night to do if I ever fell asleep. Went and got a muffin from breakfast then did a 5 mile loop. Absolutely beautiful. Was on a boardwalk directly over the lake. Took a bridge to get to the other side. Made it back and I was dripping. So hot. First time running this long continuously since August. Such a blessing. And I felt good. Definitely still thinking about my shin but the fact that I was able to run 5 miles without anything was a blessing. Probably the first time I’ve ran that long while having no pain since November ‘22. Such a blessing. Got some breakfast. It was amazing. But what else is new. Put my sweaty clothes back on. I actually put on every single article of clothing except 2 shorts and 2 shirts. And my socks I left in my bag. But other than that I wore it all. It’s really not much but I wanted to make sure I was warm for the descent. Two miles in I had to stop. I was too cold. 5 miles later Caleb called. So good to talk to him for so long. Good to catch up. After I climbed a little more I descended. It was wildly windy. It pushed me up the hill then almost stopped me going down. It would slow me from 25-30 mph to 15-20 in a matter of seconds. I was holding on for dear life. My rear brake froze for a time but thankfully it started working when I needed it. Descending was so scary. I don’t know how I was still on my bike. That wind almost blew me over several times. It whipped rocks, sand, and dust in my face which is terrifying when you’re going 40 mph and all the sudden can hardly see. Hit 47 mph. Did 10 miles under 23’. And I rode the brakes most of the way. Made it down and stopped in a parking lot to take off all my layers. The suburbs I first went through was probably the poorest I’ve seen. Most amount of homeless people I’ve passed. Hopped on a bike lane after almost getting blown over once again. I was riding on the shoulder and a gust of 45 mph hits me at my side. I was blown almost into the second lane. Thankfully no cars or else. Well I don’t even want to think what would’ve happened. Bike path was chill. Called mom. Made it to the hotel. Took a shower. Walked to the habit 💪. Does not cease to disappoint. Called my family. Walked to Walmart to get my groceries. Took way to long finding everything but I got new earbuds so yay cause the other ones done broke. Got to talk to my cousins. Eli, JT, and Uncle Josh. They got to witness me wandering aimlessly. So good to talk to them. Walked back and called mom and dad. I’m really tired so I’m praying I can sleep. OCEAN TOMORROW!!!!!!!

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 73 miles (117 km)
Total: 3,413 miles (5,493 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltGood you got over the mountains when you did! The famous Santa Ana winds were kicking up over 75 mph in places. You might want to consult windy.com for wind forecasts. Many cycle tourists rely heavily on it.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago