Day 45 - Gratitude - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

March 13, 2024

Day 45 - Gratitude

Hmmm. Not the day I would’ve ever expected. Probably my worst night of sleep yet on this trip. It took me almost 4 hours to fall asleep around 12. Then I woke up around 5. I somehow felt really well rested. So I guess yesterday was a good rest day! I decided I wouldn’t move until sunrise. I didn’t want to worry about cars hitting me. They seem like they’re even worse here in CA than AZ. I made packing up real easy and was out just after 7 after starting around 6:15. Fastest pack up yet?? It was a beautiful morning. I bundled up. It was 31° I think. Got moving down the hill into Joshua Tree. Made it down while being blasted with wind. I was struggling to hit 16 mph on a fairly steep descent. So frustrating! After 15 miles of descent I started 45 miles into wind. Unexpected. It was hard. Cars were awful. I stopped for a long break around mile 30 to catch up on everything from the past few days. Had a few tortillas with Nutella then got moving. Oof. This wind. I was wondering how I made it through OK/TX. If the ocean wasn’t so close I don’t know if I could will myself to keep going. Had the steepest hill yet. I was up in about a minute but was moving 2-3 mph in my smallest ring. I even unclipped in case I needed to bail. Thankfully I made it up. I thought I’d have to push it. 25 miles left I broke. I turned on airplane mode because sometimes I can get in my own head checking everything. I broke down for a mile or so then looked around and realized everything was ok. I hate that wind. It sounds so wimpy but I think it brings back all of the awful moments on this trip with it. Dehydration, unsafe people, and Texas. I wanted to turn around. I wanted to be back at Joshua Tree. Mostly, I wanted to be home. Inside. Away from this wind. Sadly I still had another 20 miles left now. The wind calmed down a bit. A man at the gas station said this valley is notoriously windy. Ouch. I was so nervous for the hill but now I couldn’t wait to get there. It would mean I’m away from this wind. I worked so hard getting there. Took another break and finally we were out of that dang wind. Called dad before the climb. Then called mom. Then Lucy called right as it was starting. I was a little breathless but it was good to get some motivation before the last 20 miles. I was preparing for about 3-4 hours. I started. That was so steep. Easily the most intense hill I’ve rode. It was endless. I was moving at about 5 mph. My heart rate was consistently 160-175. I stopped a few times and almost rolled down the hill. I do t know how some of those cars made it up. Especially those semis. After I climbed 1927’ in 5 miles the worst was over. But it was still steep. I just got better views to take my mind off the endlessness of the climb. But I made it to the top. I was so happy. Called the Dennett’s which was awesome to share the moment with them. I was so happy. I had a lady take my picture. I wanted to remember the most physically demanding part of my trip but the most fun. Then I went down and it was beautiful. Big Bear might be one of the most beautiful towns I’ve seen. Made it to the hotel and took a shower. A layer of sweat, dirt, and everything else came off. Thanks mom and dad for the hotel. Went and got some pizza. I couldn’t even finish it was so big. Went back to the hotel room and was happy. Called mom and dad and chilled out then went to bed. Hardest but most fun, beautiful, fulfilling, and every other amazing thing possible. I’m thankful. Now I get to go down this mountain tomorrow! 2 more days to the ocean!!!!!!!!!!! Pics are updated for everyday now. I should be posting more consistent from now on. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 82 miles (132 km)
Total: 3,340 miles (5,375 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 0