Day 44 - She Calls Me Back - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

March 12, 2024

Day 44 - She Calls Me Back

What a day. I think it was restful?? I’m not sure. It was a good day nonetheless. I slept awfully. I forgot what it’s like sleeping with people next to you. There was a party that went on for awhile. Finally around 9:15 I think I was able to fall asleep. I woke around midnight and couldn’t fall asleep till about 1:30. Another party 😠. A car’s alarm 😠. And someone was banging two rocks together??? 😠 😠 😠 but I woke up. Yay. And did not move. I had nowhere to be! That made me happy. I moved around a bit but mostly stayed in my tent. It was cold! No clue how cold but it was chilly. Around 9:30 the rangers came around to collect my money so I was forced out of my tent. I decided I’d go for a hike. It was a 12 mile loop that dad sent. I didn’t really want to. But sticking around camp wouldn’t be good. I bundled up and left. Walking through the Joshua Tree forests was mind boggling. Never seen anything like it. I saw two people. That was it. Almost 4.5 hours and 2 people. I made it to the canyon. 🤯🤯🤯My mind was blown. I could see big bear (where I’m staying tomorrow) and many other snow covered peaks over a massive valley. That was cool. And it was just me. I got cell service too! I called mom and Grace. It was so good to talk to people. Eventually I got too cold due to the wind and left. Took it easy coming back. Still trying to be careful with my shin. Made it back and thankfully no animal got into my tent. Always a relief. I hate leaving my stuff cause I never know if an animal will get into it or if someone will steal it. There were some idiotic college kids climbing around literally 10 feet from my tent. I made a quick pb+j and then left. They annoyed me. I decided to hike a hill nearby. I wanted to take the back way because it was faster and off trail. I was done with tourists. It was steep! Now I see why people take the trail. Fell back a few times and got pricked quite a few times by prickly pears. Made it to the top and was dripping. Called mom and dad again. So glad I had cell service. Posted my journal from day 43 and then walked over to the top. People just stared at me. I think they were watching me struggle up the backside. Ran down and rolled my ankle a bit. It hurt a little to walk but I think I’ll be ok. Just walked it back to camp and prepared a feast. Cold soaked dinner and opened another tub of Nutella. That dinner never fails me. And Nutella is too addicting. I laid down cause I was exhausted and made a very long playlist. Wrote this and will hopefully go to bed around 8. I’m tired. 20 miles today! Pretty easy stuff but still tiring. I’ll hopefully stretch and get things ready for tomorrow. I have a beast of a climb that I’m pretty nervous for. 11.5 miles and 3600’ up. We’ll see if I make it 😬. Pics to come sometime soon for the last few days. 

Update: I stretched on top of the picnic table under the stars. It’s just me and the stars tonight :)

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0