Day 43 - Fall On Me - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

March 11, 2024

Day 43 - Fall On Me

Such a long day. Not really but it felt like today was never going to end. I got amazing sleep last night. Almost 10 hours. I was hoping to wake up earlier but it was worth it. I watched the sunrise from my tent cause I didn’t put the fly on. I knew I’d have some climbing but I took my time. Got going just after 8. Eh it’s whatever. I don’t have anywhere to be fast. I climbed. It was hard. Then I had a shockingly long downhill. About 20 miles that was consistently down. Obviously some rollers but mainly downhill. More of the unreal landscape. These green (as green as the desert gets) hills into jagged peaks. It was really cool. I loved it. I got so cold on the descent being in shorts and t shirts. But I knew a climb would eventually happen. And it did. And that dang wind picked up again. Now I climbed. Barely. But it was hard. Last 15 miles to the visitor center at Joshua Tree would take awhile. I got warm quick. The looong ascents really get to me and make me angry. But other than that I had a smile on my face all morning. Finally I made it. I took a few stops along the way cause it was weirdly exhausting. I’m hoping it’s better for the climb into Joshua Tree. I stopped at the visitor center and they said they might have hiker/biker sites available. All day I prayed that I would get there and have a site. I went over to McDonald’s and charged my stuff. I knew it would take some time but I felt like I had lots to do. Called mom, primrose, and Clarissa. Called dad too. Filled up all 15 of my water bottles in the sink and probably made some people angry. Got myself an incredible deal at McDonald’s. Big mac, large fry, and large strawberry milkshake all for $8.71. Thanks everyone. Finally I decided I should probably start moving. I was exhausted. Probably a little dehydrated. Guzzled almost an entire bottle before the climb even started. Uh oh. It was 5 miles to the entrance station where I’d figure out if there are spots available. I looked straight up for about 4 miles. Finally made it there and was dripping already. I’m not sure if there’s been a time that I’ve sweat more in such a short time. They didn’t know if there would be spots available. What?? I was not too happy. I was not going to get check 15 miles down the road to only have to turn around and go back 15 miles or continue down the road another 20. Fine. I’ll go check. Sweat. It was such a brutalizing climb. No turns. Literally up for 6 miles. I just looked down. And wanted to roll down. Finally the road started turning but that only meant that it got steeper. More sweat. 3 miles later I see some people climbing on rocks and decide to stop. I needed a rest. I passed a lady taking a picture and we got to talking. Her name was Carol. Her husband was Marv. They were there with their children and grandchildren. It was so good to talk to someone cause I behave by had more than a 2 minute long conversation since day 41. I met their whole family. I’m sorry it was a lot of names to remember but it was so good talking to you all as well. Eventually I left. They gave me homemade cookies, oranges from their tree at home, and a bar. That was amazing! So kind. The cookie got me through the rest of the climb.  They drove past a few more times. I got so excited seeing them. Good people. On the descent it was just as hard. That wind killed me. 4500’ the wind picks up. But there were so many Joshua trees it was actually real cool. Descended to the campsite. I checked one other just in case this was full. The other one was so I went to Ryan Campground. I show up and I was the only hiker/biker at the site!! Such a blessing. I got camp set up for two days. The wind kept picking up my tent and I was wishing dad was here. I finally settled in and stretched a wee bit. I don’t have cell so I can’t call anyone but I was so thankful to have a really good interaction with good people. I finished the cookies and oranges they gave me. That was so good. Finished it off with 2 pb+j’s. Good day. Brushed my teeth typed up my journal and hopefully heading to bed soon as long as the people across the way quiet down 😠. Not sure what I’ll do tomorrow but it should be a good day no matter what

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 61 miles (98 km)
Total: 3,258 miles (5,243 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0