Day 42 - Someday - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

March 10, 2024

Day 42 - Someday

Another amazing day. I’m happy. Today was a good day. I’m happy. It took me awhile to get going. Shocker. I packed up and had to go the bathroom. I miss these developed places with bathrooms! Won’t have a bathroom for a few days now. I finally packed things up. And got going. Then looked down. I had a flat. Changed it in the middle of the road. That wasn’t really a road. These boondockers are insane. I don’t even remember much about today. But I do remember it was a good day. I called mom and Clarissa and that made me happy. Around mile 30 I stopped for a big snack. Pretty much a second breakfast. Mom’s granola was amazing once again this morning. 20 miles later and a bit of a climb I hit my last gas station till tomorrow. Oh. And I made it into California. Luke called and I had to hang up on him somewhat abruptly cause these drivers are somehow worse than AZ. Two drivers rolled coal as they past me and lots of other idiots passing way too close when the other lane was completely open! I was getting a little overwhelmed with the distance that I had to travel still. So around 75 I stopped for another big meal. I don’t know what it was cause it was 3:30 but it set me up well to get to my “campsite”. I saw a cop pull two cars over right in front of me and both times I thought he was gonna pull me over. Sad. I had two long climbs left and called mom on the first one for some motivation. Primrose and Clarissa gave me just enough motivation. Then I descended like a madman before the last hill. Ben called me on this one and it was good to breathlessly talk to him. I decided where I’d sleep and then hung up to get my stuff ready. This is public land so I can sleep wherever I want to. Watched an amazing sunset and got to talk to the Bernstetter’s! Highlight of my day. Then I called my parents and went to bed pretty quickly. Around 8:15! I was thinking I’d wake up around 5-5:30 but I checked my watch when I woke up and it said 6:30!!! That felt good. I’m happy.  I’ll be taking an easy day tomorrow and then a day off in Joshua tree. I need a rest 🥱. I won’t get any service at my campsite so it may not be for a few days till my next post. Also pics are in for day 41. 

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 8 Comment 1
Karen PoretCongratulations! You made it! The roads and signs are clean; that’s a first.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 103 miles (166 km)
Total: 3,197 miles (5,145 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Adam ZamoraThis scenery looks incredible!
In bed by 8:15! That's what hikers call "Hiker's Midnight." Sounds like you found Biker's Midnight!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jude HubbardTo Adam ZamoraExactly! Except it’s not too far from my “midnight” even when I’m home 🙃
Reply to this comment
2 months ago