Day 41 - Wagon Wheel - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

March 9, 2024

Day 41 - Wagon Wheel

Another good day. Pics are to come in a few days. I may be really bad at posting cause tomorrow night I’d be shocked if I get cell and I probably won’t get it at all in Joshua Tree. Today I woke up and took a while to get packed. Everything was really wet from the dew. Eventually I left and said bye to Debbie. She was nice. I went to the bathroom at McDonald’s and then climbed out of Wickenburg. I got hot and took off my jacket then descended for awhile. It was a really chill day. A decent shoulder. Not much traffic. Beautiful views. I love this state. I stopped around 20 for a quick tortilla with Nutella. I had mom’s homemade granola this morning that was incredible. Around mile 35 I saw two cyclists. I pulled over and wanted to talk to them. They were Donald and Todd. They were going to Saint Augustine. Both retired and met each other on the road. Todd is from San Diego and Donald is from Washington. Very nice people. They said another guy was up the road a bit. A few miles later I see him. I stop and get a candy bar from two nice ladies in their car and ask where Jimmy was from. He said suburbs of Chicago. My mind was blown. He said he’s from Naperville and was blown away that I was from Wheaton. He’s 73 and riding across the country! He’s a beast! Gonna have to meet up with him when we both get home. Really chill day after that and stopped around 50 for lunch. That tasted good. Just really long descents and ascents. I hopped back on I-10 and that wasn’t even too bad. I got off and passed a gas station. I got 2 pizzas. That was amazing. Unplanned but so worth it! Thanks to everyone for your money 🙏. Then I got to the campsite and thankfully had cell service. Called Grace then called home. Then I called the Andersons which was awesome. And then I called dad again and going to bed now. I’ll get real bad cell so if I’m a few days behind don’t worry I didn’t die. I’ll post again once I get cell. Cali tomorrow!!!!!

Heart 0 Comment 0
Uh oh
Heart 2 Comment 0
When me and dad started in AZ this sign said 380. Down to 100. Tomorrow it will say 1.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Jimmy!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Lunch 💪
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 96 miles (154 km)
Total: 3,094 miles (4,979 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Tessa ArensenHi Jude!!!!!!!!!!!!
This is such a amazing journey that requires both physical and mental strength, which you have! I pray that you would seek God during this trip and people would see God through you. I love the pictures, keep on taking them! I miss you! Come visit us in Kenya this summer!
Love your cousin,
Tessa
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Cameron WilliamsGreat weather pics! When you pass through San Fran, biking down Lombard Street is a hoot (worlds most twisty street), but you’ll be in a slow line with vehicles. That might be too far off your route, but there is a nice bike path along the bay heading back to Golden Gate. Golden gate Natl Rec Area just the other side of the bridge has a lot of great trails, but mountainous. Could be a fun trails detour to get over to highway 1. Access point is a little walkway off the scenic viewpoint that circles back to a hanging walkway underneath the bridge.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Tony SeisserCool you ran into someone from Naper. Small world. Ride like the wind. : )
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jude HubbardTo Tony SeisserTony!!! Thank you so much for the money!!!!!! Just got some McDonald’s today. Thank you!!!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jude HubbardTo Cameron WilliamsAwesome. Thanks for these suggestions. I’ll definitely have to check it out. I would love to bike down the world’s most twisty street so well see if I make it over there.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jude HubbardTo Tessa ArensenTessa!! Ahhhhh so good to hear from you!!!! I miss you too!!!! I hope you are doing well and I can’t wait to see you again soon!!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Karen PoretTo Jude HubbardAs a third generation native of San FranCISCO ( never San Fran, or Frisco, please!) Lombard Street is the “crookedest street”, not twisty. It would be better to walk or bike down it, never in a vehicle. Too slow, and those who live in the houses on the street also need to be able to get their cars out of the garage :) Beware of the pickpockets and warning there are a lot of homeless people everywhere on the coast. It’s the milder weather that “draws them in”…
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jude HubbardTo Karen PoretGood to know. I’ve seen quite a few homeless communities out in the woods
Reply to this comment
1 month ago