Day 40 - The Great Divide - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

March 8, 2024

Day 40 - The Great Divide

Well this is probably going to be the exact opposite day that all of you expected. But in my mind it makes complete sense. Today was the greatest day of this entire trip being alone. Now let me tell you why. Last night before I even posted my journal of me basically breaking down I had 5 different people text me that they were praying. That was incredible. I don’t even have to ask for prayer and you all are already praying earnestly. This morning I had a few more people. God answered my prayers and your prayers. Not in one way but in many different ways. So let me walk you through my day. I woke up. Said bye to Ayo and watched him leave for work. Eventually (45 minutes later) I willed myself to get up. Now it was 7. I hoped to be out in an hour. I sat on the couch for awhile enjoying a roof. I had my classic breakfast (Nutella and tortillas) and some chips. Amazing. I was full. Finally I started to pack up. It took awhile. I brought everything downstairs and got going at 9. Pretty wet from the rain yesterday but nothing awful. I got on the canal trail pretty quickly and was thankful to see so many runners, walkers, and bikers. Under a lot of the underpasses there were many homeless people. Me and Ayo had a good chat on how to love your neighbor as yourself but I’m still trying to figure out what that means. Now here’s the fun part. SJ called me. I was so thankful. I needed it. But not only her I also got to talk to Mr. Leadaman. Good to see you sir 🫡. Then I met Terry who is biking to Florida. She was impressed by me and I was impressed by her. Then it got even better. I slowed down about 10 ebikers as they tried to pass me on a narrow path. They did not like me. I got on 62 which was started in AZ just a few days ago and the mm was at 140! Back at the border it was 380. I had to go pee and wasn’t gonna stop but I stopped at a gas station. It was actually a strip mall. I went to the last store which was a restaurant and held the door for some real nice people. I came out and sat on my phone for a few. A lady (same one as earlier) came out and invited me in for lunch. WHAT???!!!! OF COURSE!!! I sat with Jene and Diane. They are incredible people. Got to enjoy a massive meal with them and enjoyed eating a meal with people. They are so kind. This journey is bringing a blessing. After that Luke called. It was so good to see him and all his friends. Then Grace called. It was amazing to talk to her. Then I called my parents to tell them about my amazing day. I stopped at a gas station to go to the bathroom then was on my way once again. The last 20 miles were me just being grateful. The treasures of this trial are being formed within me as I go. Such a good day. But it got better. I struggled up the hill to my campsite. But I made it. It said no tents. I called dad then asked someone if I’d be fine. She said yes. Set up my tent then a lady walked over. Her name was Debbie and warned me against sleeping there. A creepy man usually comes in the night and she didn’t want me to get run over. She invited me to pitch my tent next to her rv. She let me us WiFi, offered a shower that I didn’t take and literally anything I asked she would’ve given. Amazing. Then I met Joe and Rinna. They’re from Washington so I might have to stay with them when I’m riding through. Got to talk to Aidan and SJ. Aidan ran a 9:34. SJ was babysitting Primrose and Clarissa. I miss home but today was a very good day. I’m happy to be out here. The next few days might be tough in the desert but knowing especially after today that God will provide why do I have to worry???

Heart 2 Comment 0
Ayo’s
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Terry
Heart 3 Comment 0
Primrose St. And an amazing looking steak 😋
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 2
Debbie CrawfordSurprise AZ is where I ran my 5k when I was there in January😊
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jude HubbardTo Debbie CrawfordNO WAYYYY!!!!! So good to hear from you. You’ll be getting some pics sent to you later today :)
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jene and Diane
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
So many corvettes, Porsches, and other nice cars here
Heart 2 Comment 0
Double rainbow
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Somehow (God’s faithfulness) it didn’t rain on my. It was pouring about 20 miles away the entire day. Lots of thunder/lightning and a double rainbow. The sky was yellow I thought it would dump on me at any second.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Then it turned orange
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 63 miles (101 km)
Total: 2,998 miles (4,825 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Joshua AndersonYou make me smile, Jude. Cheek cramps, even.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Ruby AndersonJude you’re crazyyy! I can’t believe you’re still alive lol. I miss you so muchhh. Also how do you always end even the hardest days on such a positive note? Or at least so positive feed back on hard days. I miss you
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTake extra water crossing the desert.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jude HubbardTo Joshua AndersonHaha love it. Your comment made me smile.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jude HubbardTo Ruby AndersonRUBYYYYY!!!!! I miss you too 😭. I can’t wait to watch your play. Loved getting to talk to you. Can’t wait to see you soon!!!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago