Day 39 - Jesus, Draw Me Ever Nearer - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

March 7, 2024

Day 39 - Jesus, Draw Me Ever Nearer

Long update: If you want to know more of my thoughts then here you go. If not then I’ll see you tomorrow. But today was a day. We woke up in Ayo’s floor which was amazing and I didn’t feel great. We waited an hour or so and attempted a run. I really didn’t feel good and had to sprint into the gas station. Then I didn’t feel good enough to continue to so we walked back. Only made it .65 miles lol. Back at the apartment I showered and washed some more clothes. Dad was leaving shortly. I was delaying it but it’s kind of hard when he has a plane to catch. It felt weird saying bye to him once again. Felt just about the same. Once he left I got ready for the day. I picked up my bike to bring it downstairs and it was flat. They put gator skins, new tubes, and sealant in my tubes and it still was flat. I changed it real quick and went back to the bike store. Patrick didn’t see anything so we’re all good hopefully. Then I went and did camelback. Lots of people there but it was kinda cool. A lot harder than I thought. I was up in 30’ and  wasn’t going all out but to do it sub 20’ would be quite insane. It was so cloudy on top and on the way down it got real cold and started raining. Once I got down I called mom and made my way to a Chick-fil-A to get warm. Got a good frosted lemonade and Mac n cheese to give me some energy. Finally I stopped shivering after about 30 minutes and made it back to Ayo’s. Changed real quick and brought a lot of extra clothes. Called mom once again. Made it to Lens crafters to get my glasses tightened and got to talk to Dave. Thanks for calling me big buddy. Then I went to piestewa peak. It was later than I’d hoped so it was a little more running. Really pretty trail around the mountain and then I went up it. It was steep! Now these are my thoughts. All day I just kept pushing off the fact that I’m alone. I talked to Grace and didn’t really want to talk about that because it seemed like that was better. Once I started the hike a song came into mind. Jesus, draw me ever nearer. This is just the prayer I need for this trip. And a lot of others. But I pray that this journey would bring a blessing and I’ll follow God even though I’m heavily worn. This loneliness is no joke. Everyone needs a friend and it’s sad to think that so many people simply don’t have anyone. Where dad was here I leaned on him. Which was good. But only for so long. I thought he would solve all my problems. He fixed a lot of flats, blocked that wind, and did a lot more making it so easy for me. But there was so much that he could do. On this hike I realized that this trip means a lot more. God is revealing Himself so much more than I’ve ever experienced. I can’t even describe it. “Let the treasures of this trial form within me as I go.” This is hard. But this is good. I’ve cried more than I have at any other time on this trip. Being so beat down. So stressed out. So tired. So frustrated. So lonely. Then the next moment I am filled with Gods presence whether I see it in this moment or the next. Typically I don’t notice it until I look back. I can see Gods hand through all of this. Protecting me. Comforting my mom. Impacting so many people following along. I could never do something like this alone. I always say I’m alone but I’m really not. Sometimes it’s hard to believe but I know God is with me. It’s ok if people worry about me but I pray that you all will trust in Him as well through this time as I’ve had to as well. It’s not easy but “at the end of our hearts testing, with God’s likeness let us wake in peace”. After that I went to the habit and got two burgers. That felt good. Then I slogged to Walmart. It was dark. It was rainy. Is was angry. I was tired. I was frustrated. Marcus paid for me and dad paid him back. Thanks you both. Then I somehow made it back to the apartment. Being with Ayo made me feel better. Called sj and mom again. Sorry about earlier. I was frustrated and took it out on them. Please pray for me as I pray for so many of you all that read this. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 2
Brian McCollumcactus remind me of a hand telling us to look up. almost as if they are pointing to heaven.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jude HubbardTo Brian McCollumWow Brian. Love thinking of it that way. Always a good reminder where you are in the middle of His BEAUTIFUL creation.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 33 miles (53 km)
Total: 2,935 miles (4,723 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Peter HubbardJude - it's so humble of you to share about your loneliness, your frustration and your defeat. I'm so grateful to have shared these last 11 days with you and now over 1,000 miles in total. But this is your trip and God is showing Himself more to you when you're out there by yourself and fully dependent on Him.
Remember what you told me: It's more about the journey than it is about the destination.
My charge to you for this next leg of your journey:
Deuteronomy 31:6, "Do not be anxious or afraid, for it is the Lord your God who goes with you. He will not leave you nor forsake you. Be strong and courageous!"
Also, Psalm 34, "I sought the Lord and he answered me and delivered me from all my fears. The angel of the Lord encamps around those who fear him and delivers them. Those who seek the Lord lack no good thing."
All my love,
Dad
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jude HubbardTo Peter HubbardThank you Dad. Two very encouraging verses. Loved having you with me and I miss you out here but I’m glad you’re home. Love you.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago