Day 38 - Closer - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

March 6, 2024

Day 38 - Closer

I need your help. I’m switching my plans. I’m really excited about this and taking the time up the coast. I’m not quite there but I’m getting close. I’m going to go up the coast and (hopefully) make it to Canada to take the Amtrak home in Vancouver. I’ll be heading from Phoenix to Joshua Tree then to LA. From there I’ll pretty much be taking highway 1. I’ve never been there before. If anyone has or knows any of the area I would love any recommendations to sleep/camp, eat, explore, and most importantly places to hike/bike/run or any other activity. Preferably within 20 miles of the coast so I don’t have to bike too much extra. Just leave a comment or text me any ideas and I may not use them but would love some options. So we’re looking at 35-45 more days until I’m home :)

Now onto today. I got 10 hours of sleep. That felt good. Climbed a little to get back on the highway and descended very, very quickly. 4.5 miles went fast. Went under a tunnel and over a bridge. We climbed a little after that. Around mile 20 I was getting real hungry. Broke out the tortillas and made a quick pb+j. We almost got going. Then we saw I got a flat. Dad changed that. I’ll miss him. Then we pretty much just descended. This scenery is getting prettier and prettier. So much green. I love it. Mountains. I love it. Made it into the outskirts of Phoenix. Cruised for awhile and had some bike path. Made it to the bike shop and they were so nice. We got some good Mexican food and they worked on it. Came back and watched a bike race on the tv while they worked. Replaced my tires and got gatorskins. Also got slime on my tubes so we’re praying it lasts longer. After quite some time they put a lot of work in and got my bike in good shape. Replaced the cassette cause the one in Wheaton was a defect. Rebuilt the hub. And they replaced the brake pads. I tested it out and it was smoooth. Felt good. 4 miles to Ayo’s house. Very thankful we get to stay with him tonight. I crashed hard. Just sat on the couch for awhile then went to dinner. I repacked but I’ll be taking a rest day and staying another night with Ayo. Preciate it buddy. Gonna do Camelback and Piestewa unless anyone has any other suggestions. Just throw them out there and I’ll love it. Dad leaves tomorrow :( but it’ll be a good day to refocus with a day off

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 4
sarah jane hubbardmiss my brothers
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Lucy Andersoncamelback is so fun!!! Jude you are doing such an amazing job! keep it up!!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jude HubbardTo Lucy AndersonThanks Lucy! It was so fun knowing you all had done it!!! Very pretty
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jude HubbardTo sarah jane hubbardMe and Ayo miss you too lil buddy
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

Today's ride: 68 miles (109 km)
Total: 2,902 miles (4,670 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0