Day 33 - I Won’t Give Up - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

March 1, 2024

Day 33 - I Won’t Give Up

Yes I will. Maybe I won’t. I don’t know. That went through my head lots of times today. That wind was bad. Those hills were hard. But good. Today was my longest day yet. We ended in the dark. Not good. I wasn’t happy. But now I’m much better. I’m tired. We woke up this morning. Good sunrise. Started a descent. So much wind. I rolled over a thorn. Another popped tire. Dad pretty much fixed it for me and another man stopped and gave us some water. We stopped a few times in the first 20 miles. Felt good. Happy birthday Jacob. Wind picked up. We worked hard. Went up and down hills that we could see for miles away. A few times we stopped for snacks. At 57 we had some lunch. We hid under a side rail to keep us sheltered from the wind. Then dad took a picture of an arrow. 10 miles later we laid down. At a picnic area. Wind came howling once again. I didn’t want to move. It was some rollers but then we had a looooong downhill. That was good. Rejuvenated me. Made it to the first gas station we passed since day 31. We had to go to the bike shop. I didn’t want to. I really didn’t want to. We got there and I was so grumpy. I was so grumpy. Sorry everyone who helped me. I’m sure I was one of the least joyful customers they’ve ever had. I just wanted to go. To make it to the hotel. They got it going and I pushed it. I really pushed it the pace hard. Heart rate was consistently in the 170s for 12 miles. We made it. Barely. We’re exhausted. We got burgers. I called mama. Dad got some McDonald’s after the burgers. I’m tired. I feel like words aren’t coming to mind but it’s how most of today was. Long. Hard. Fun? It’s hard to recommend this to anyone but it’s hard to pass up an opportunity. Pics to come tomorrow. Get me out of this wind. 

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 106 miles (171 km)
Total: 2,481 miles (3,993 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltSomeday this will be one of your fondest memories.

----->Bill
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jeff SchmelaI’m glad you are out there having an adventure!! I’m praying for continued safety and that you continue to realize you do hard things like a boss!!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jude HubbardTo Jeff SchmelaThank you Mr. Schmela. So encouraging. I can’t wait for you and Jackson to do this!!! Hopefully you’ll have less headwinds :)
Reply to this comment
2 months ago