Day 22 - Best Day of My Life - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

February 19, 2024

Day 22 - Best Day of My Life

Not really. I just saw an alpaca. Took me forever getting out of my tent (like normal) but once I did I saw Bess. You are incredible. You inspired me and impacted me so much. Thank you. Spent the next mile or so thank God for you and the experience and praising Him for the impact I was able to make. Then I saw Tomika at the gas station! Thanks for making my morning amazing. Got a later start but I don’t regret at all. Windy day. I don’t remember too much but I passed the first of many oil wells. Stopped for lunch at 11:15 after 25 miles. The wind was howling and it made it incredibly not enticing to get back out. Finally I willed myself to do it. I don’t remember too much cause I put my head down and went to work. It was cold with the wind (56°) so I kept my quarter zip on the entire day. Had a few longer climbs to get around a lake but other than that it was mostly headwind. I think that’s one of the hardest parts on this trip. It’s so hard to stay out of my head when I hear the whirling of the wind for many long hours. I listened to music most of the day to try and make the wind quieter in my ears. Went through some pretty historic towns which were oddly really interesting to me. It’s just like the Wild West towns you’ll see in movies. Yesterday I saw almost 10 corvettes but today it was just big trucks that “identify as a Prius”. Made it to the campsite at the bottom of the hill. That hill 100 yards away is a future Jude problem. Set up my tent and hunted around for cell service but didn’t really get anything great.  Called the family for a bit then listened to more music for some time and now I’m exhausted so going to bed very, Very, VERY soon. Pictures to come later

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltToo fast to find out why? :-)
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Karen PoretTo get to the other side, Bill!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 1
Karen PoretWatch out..they spit..:(
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 84 miles (135 km)
Total: 1,701 miles (2,737 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Becky SandbergI’m happy you saw an alpaca, Jude!
Many many sweet gifts from God along the way! Cheering you on dearest Jude and remembering you often in prayer! Love you-Mimi
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jude HubbardTo Becky SandbergLove you Mimi!!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago