Day 23 - Seminole Wind - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

February 20, 2024

Day 23 - Seminole Wind

Another one of those days. Windy. Thanks to William for the song title and the caption at the end. If you ever get tired of me complaining about this dang wind then come and spend a day out here with me. Got out in one hour this morning! I deserve a medal. Stopped at a dollar general five miles down the road for a pit stop and filled up on water. Breakfast happened there too. Hilly. Lots of elevation change. I don’t remember too much. Stopped for lunch at mile 30 at a Seminole Nation Community Center. Wish I had ate inside with the AC. 77° was warm. After that guess what happened. More wind 😱. Just put my head down and went back to my full time job. Saw some horses running along side me. Inside the barb wired fences of course. I’m convinced there’s not a single square inch of Oklahoma that doesn’t have barbed wire around it. Thought I popped a tired going into the wind and up a hill. But I didn’t. I stopped right before 20 miles straight into wind at the windiest point during the day. Was ready for a doozy. Not really. Still so hilly. After 16-17 miles I was struggling to hold 5 mph into that wind. I stopped. Sat for about 25 minutes wanting to never get up again. Finally I convinced myself that all I had to do was my house to Lawson and back 3.5 times. We can do this. Finally made it. Averaged about 8-9 mph on that 20 mile stretch. So hard. Kinda fun? 15 miles left to the campsite. Downhill! Gonna have to climb out of that tomorrow. Made it and it was the best campsite yet. There’s something about the hardest days being the most amazing. Most rewarding. Nice sunset behind me but pink over the lake. Phones are bad at taking pictures. Might stop and get some breakfast tomorrow? We’ll see. But hopefully going to make it to another bible study cause they have dinner! Bye. See you all tomorrow. Probably? 

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Oklahoma Moon.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 83 miles (134 km)
Total: 1,784 miles (2,871 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 0