Sculpture and Saguaros - 14 Wheels to Tucson - CycleBlaze

March 15, 2023

Sculpture and Saguaros

Finding some joy on a cloudy day

We had a fun, photo-free mountain bike ride yesterday with the beginner group at the RV park.  I haven't fussed with the camera on these group rides. We're just focused on learning as much as we can from people who are kind enough to show us the ropes. One of these days I'll take a few moments to grab some photos.

Today we're getting a leisurely start. I'm buried in the journal and Barry assures me he is in no rush to get started; he's happy to keep the ride short. We have a date for dinner with our friend Lorraine Glazar in the Catalina Foothills. That will get us closer to the beautiful swoopy eight-mile loop road through Saguaro East National Park. I had a longer ride in mind to get there from the Rillito River bike path but the dawdling this morning and light drizzle off and on this afternoon have reset our ambitions. 

On the way to the Saguaro national park we stop by the sculpture park at Brandi Fenton Memorial Park. It's right on the Rillito River bike path, three miles east of the race track, and I only know about it because Lorraine suggested we stop by. I'm so happy she did. The park has a juried exhibit of 16 large-scale sculptures chosen to evoke joy. They are indeed joyful. We both feel a little lighter on this grey day, smiling as we wander among the art. Here are a few favorites that we kept circling, with a bit of the artists' statements.

"Self-Made Woman" by Adam Homan. "...is about claiming your freedom despite the appearance of seemingly rigid constraints, whether they be societal, physical, emotional or otherwise."
Heart 1 Comment 0
"Interplay" by Pamela Ambrosio. "I chose one of my original paintings that evoked a feeling of play & happiness to feature on this sculpture. The shape also lends itself to a joyful sense of movement."
Heart 2 Comment 2
Scott AndersonThese are all great. We’ve never seen them though. Is it an permanent exhibit?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Janice BranhamIt's temporary through the end of May, but I imagine there will be something else to see here the next time you're in Tucson.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
"The Strength of the Sky" by Jimmy Descant. "A dedication to the first Native American in Space, John Herrington ... My rocket ships neither depict nor contain guns, bullets or bombs, they are for the hopeful flight of understanding and inclusion."
Heart 1 Comment 0
"Totem: Los Animales" by Joan Waters. "As the birds swoop across the early sky, bees hum on the flowers and hummingbirds dart to the feeder, and I feel I am part of the infinite energy and joy of life."
Heart 3 Comment 0

After this, a shot of exercise endorphins will be gravy. We drive on over to Saguaro East National Park, unload the bikes and pedal out on the eight mile one-way loop.  The crowds are sparse mid-week and the drivers are in no hurry.

Right away the road drops sharply to a series of steep, fun rollers, then starts a gradual climb. I've heard some cyclists do laps on this park road; it's not a bad idea. A solitary blue patch of sky splits the clouds for a little while.

Yellow Brittlebush spreads around the prickly pear
Heart 2 Comment 0
The Saguaros are looking joyful today, their accordion pleats expanding to absorb the rain.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Every day more flowers pop up. I'm not sure what the pink one is, will have to get closer.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltA bit out of focus, but probably prairie clover.

https://swbiodiversity.org/seinet/taxa/index.php?taxon=1482
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Janice BranhamTo Bill ShaneyfeltThat looks right, thanks Bill.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Looking at the Santa Catalina mountains as we loop back around to the start.
Heart 2 Comment 0

At the end I'm eager to keep going. I had seen some advice from Kelly Iniguez to take the Old Spanish Trail west towards the Loop and I'm curious to see how what it's like. Barry cheerfully agrees to meet me a ways down the road. It turns out there's a bike path next to the Old Spanish Trail that goes six miles to Broadway. At 22nd Street by the Target they've built a tunnel for the path to get cyclists past a tricky intersection. I continue to be amazed by the investment in bike facilities here.

All for me? Gee thanks!
Heart 2 Comment 2
Kelly IniguezI know nothing about this underpass!

I've bicycled to Saguaro Park twice this week. I always go up Old Spanish Trail, then come back on Valencia. Perhaps if I reverse directions, I would see the underpass? I tried riding on that bike path once. It had horrible heaves, with plants growing in the cracks. The roadway has a good shoulder, so I moved on over and never looked back.

Did you see any other riders on the path or the underpass? I frequently see riders on the road there. Never the path.

I've gone right now to the mapping feature on RWGPS to try and figure it out. I looked at your ride map. I can see it now. How about that.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Janice BranhamTo Kelly IniguezWe didn't see many people on bikes on or off the path, probably because of the weather. I wouldn't have noticed the path or the underpass going east on Old Spanish Trail. You're right, some of it is in rough shape and I moved to the shoulder for a stretch, should have mentioned that. Much of the path is fine and it's so nice to ride without having to check the rear view mirror all the time.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

We have a lovely dinner at Lorraine's home in the foothills, and I'm so engrossed in the conversation that I don't even think to capture a photo of us together. Looking forward to remedying that on our next visit here.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 15 miles (24 km)
Total: 683 miles (1,099 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Kelly IniguezI've ridden two loops in East Saguaro Park with pleasure. I could probably do three and still call it fun. A tandem couple here in town are training for Paris-Brest-Paris. They did enough laps to make 100 miles. One, I'm not capable of that. Two, it would be WAY off of my fun meter! That makes my two laps look puny.

The last time I was there, a Backroads Bicycle Tours group was looping around. That's the most riders I've ever seen. I've never seen another recumbent, except the time that AD Carson organized a club ride.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago