In Sedona - 14 Wheels to Tucson - CycleBlaze

February 18, 2023

In Sedona

Bike school of hard knocks

One beautiful vista after another spreads before us as we drive through Sedona. There don't appear to be many pullouts and its a challenge to capture the scene on the camera from the car, but I love this one that Barry took of Cathedral Rock.

View of Cathedral Rock to start our day
Heart 7 Comment 2
Scott AndersonWe’ll, that’s impressive enough. Maybe we should break down and head up there some winter.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Janice BranhamThere's amazing hiking and biking of all flavors here Scott, I recommend it.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

After taking a little drive up route 89A north of Sedona late yesterday, Barry is not excited about a ride there on the twisty two-lane shoulder-less road we saw. He's more interested in the trails in Sedona and is looking up bike shops this morning. Hmmm, this is getting serious. After breakfast he drops me off at the Arizona Cypress trailhead for my bike skills class and drives to town for some shopping. We'll see what transpires on that front while I get some schooling.

I'm doing a Ninja MTB Fundamentals class for women today, a combination of drills in the parking lot and skills application on the trail. There are four of us plus our instructor Julie. She has a trove of techniques to cover with us on body position, bike handling, climbing, and braking, demonstrating each drill and cheering on our attempts.

In the parking lot I get enough small success with front wheel lifts in the lot to see how it could be useful to get up over an obstacle on the trail, with a lot of practice. I think I'll start with trying to pop it up over a broomstick. Just hitting the timing will be a win. Other skills come into play on the trail, like looking ahead rather than what's right in front of your wheel, and knowing when to stay off the brakes.

That last bit is my weak spot. When we come to a rocky downhill section late in the morning I let the bike roll down the rocks, then choke on a patch of mud at the bottom and grab the brakes. It's a good demo for the group on how to crash. My back wheel comes up and I do a face plant, a thing I'm sure no instructor wants to see in their class. Luckily there's no significant damage, just a scratch on my forehead where my sunglasses pushed into my face plus assorted bumps and bruises. After Julie runs me through some movements to be sure I am functional, we ride back to the parking lot for lunch and recovery.

A couple of the women aren't able to stick around for the afternoon session so it's just Julie, me, and Jen from Phoenix. I'm sorry the others can't stay but don't mind the extra attention. Julie is an excellent instructor, offering lots of options, feedback and encouragement. We have a great afternoon, getting up and down a bunch of rocky stretches that I would not have attempted before today. There's not much time for picture-taking as we're focusing on the work at hand but at one especially pretty spot Julie offers to take some.

Good memory for the day
Heart 6 Comment 2
Keith AdamsLookin' great, lady! Like a real pro.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

When Barry comes to pick me up there's a new bike on top of the car. He's all in! We'll get the details tomorrow, can't wait to see him ride it.

Heart 2 Comment 0
The sunglasses print is just a flesh wound, could be worse.
Heart 6 Comment 1
Scott AndersonYes, this looks like an excellent idea.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Can recommend dinner in Sedona at Rascal - great food, tasty Prickly Pear Margaritas, and live music.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 7 miles (11 km)
Total: 296 miles (476 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Rich FrasierKudos to you for pushing your limits! It's very impressive!!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen ClassenWe did a one day mtb tour and lesson in Moab a few years ago. It was the absolute best. You have me searching for beginner women mtb classes this summer at Whistler.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Janice BranhamTo Rich FrasierThanks Rich! I'm still operating on the cautious side and will walk the scarier bits but fewer things scare me now. Getting better at letting the bike roll.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Janice BranhamTo Kathleen ClassenI do love riding with the women Kathleen, and definitely prefer it for a class. Enjoy!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago