I Do My Own Stunts - Against The Wind - CycleBlaze

May 27, 2021

I Do My Own Stunts

Merredin to Cunderdin

Day 40 and we are only about 160 km from the ride finish in Perth. 

Today we pedalled about 109 km from Merredin to Cunderdin through highly productive grain growing country. A solid tailwind during the morning made the first 60km fly past.

One slight hitch was that I had fall  when a truck driver needlessly blasted his air horns when passing me on a good stretch of road. Alarmed by the noise I wheeled off the edge of the seal and lost control in loose gravel. Fortunately I was moving very slowly, however the tumble was enough to badly sprain my left thumb and bruise right side ribs. Thankfully the bike was undamaged and I was able to continue to ride. My only concern is that my left hand won’t be capable of removing a tyre if I have a flat in the next couple of days. I’ll face that problem if it arises. There is always a Plan B. (Update: one week later, a full medical examination back in Canberra revealed the thumb was broken and the ribs were cracked.)

Good news today is that fellow rider Ian has arrived safely in Margaret River south of Perth. Since Ceduna in Sth Australia,  Ian (a fast rider) has been riding ahead and diverted onto another route from Merredin to visit friends. He arrived at their place yesterday and is planning to stay for a while. 

Joel and I stayed at Cunderdin van park which has excellent  single cabins, a well appointed kitchen and laundry. 

The question is will heavy rain delay our pedalling into Perth over the next few days? Tomorrow we’ll find out.

Lunar eclipse underway
Heart 1 Comment 0
Dawn start and the moon was impressive on the western horizon
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking west at dawn riding out of Merredin
Heart 0 Comment 0
Merredin silo art
Heart 2 Comment 0
Very lonesome tree in a vast, recently sown wheat paddock
Heart 2 Comment 0
A good reminder. Roadside poster near Merredin.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The Perth to Kalgoorlie water pipeline crossing a salt lake
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ploughed paddock. Broad acre grain farming.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of many briny lakes in the area
Heart 0 Comment 0
The second blue painted true I have seen this week. They are part of a mental health awareness program.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Highway patrol car booking a speeding driver.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Grand post office in Kellerberrin. It’s for sale.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not far to go now.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Passenger train heading to Kalgoorlie
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rail cutting with colourful soil profile
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wide truck photo for today
Heart 0 Comment 0
Massive wheat silos
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fungi pushing through asphalt
Heart 1 Comment 0
Ore train
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sheep flock. The first I’ve noticed since Sth Australia
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Modern version of old country pub
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cunderdin cara park cabins
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 109 km (68 miles)
Total: 3,659 km (2,272 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Mike AylingSorry about your fall, Graham just as you are within sight of the end.

Mike
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Graham SmithTo Mike AylingThanks Mike. I’m grateful I wasn’t more badly hurt and the incident happened so close to the end of the ride. There’s also plenty of services near by if I need them.
Slowly, slowly.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
John SaxbyJust about there, Graham. Any ice for your thumb? Wretched air horns don't help one bit... Take your time, and hope things hold for the remaining kms.

Cheers, John
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Graham SmithTo John SaxbyHi John. Yes the hand is impressively swollen and coloured but thankfully didn’t inhibit me riding 125km today. We are now only 40km from Perth. I have heavy duty gloves, (they are actually weight lifting gloves), and the left glove is performing well as a binding/splint for the thumb.
I’ll try to get a medic to check the hand and ribs when I get to Perth. I suspect they will confirm it’s just a bad sprain and advise to keep it strapped.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyI'm sorry to hear you had a fall Graham. I hope it heals quickly.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Graham SmithTo Vince McCarthyThanks Vince. The sprained hand is already a lot better. The ribs will take a bit longer but they will be ok. Just need a bit of rest.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago