I'm older now but still riding Against the Wind - Against The Wind - CycleBlaze

I'm older now but still riding Against the Wind

Metaphorically Cycling

Why Against the Wind?
Usually cyclists ride across Australia in the west to east direction to gain advantage from prevailing winds. For various reasons, I'd prefer to cycle east to west. One reason is that I'd rather have the early morning sun on my back rather than in my eyes, and in the eyes of drivers.  

A 100 km per day average is the goal for this ride. Surely this is achievable with or without a helpful push from zephyrs and gales. Surely. 

Also I love a good metaphor. Against the Wind applies to many situations other than cycling. Indeed the journey of life itself seems to alternate between an ever changing cycle of tailwinds and headwinds but is rarely calm or boring. Especially over the past year or two.

Which way did you say you are riding across Australia? Isn’t that Against the Wind? Why would you do that?
Heart 5 Comment 0

A theme song for this ride
You may remember a singer-songwriter called Bob Seger. Bob was also a cross country runner in his younger years. His experiences powering himself across country, helped inspired his hit song Against The Wind.  I happened to hear this catchy tune a few weeks ago and it seems like an excellent theme song for this cycle tour.

Theme song for this tour thanks to Bob Seger and The Silver Bullet Band

It seems like yesterday
But it was long ago
Janey was lovely, she was the queen of my nights
There in the darkness with the radio playing low
And the secrets that we shared
The mountains that we moved
Caught like a wildfire out of control
Till there was nothing left to burn and nothing left to prove
And I remember what she said to me
How she swore that it never would end
I remember how she held me oh so tight

Wish I didn't know now what I didn't know then
Against the wind
We were runnin' against the wind
We were young and strong, we were runnin' Against the wind

And the years rolled slowly past
And I found myself alone
Surrounded by strangers I thought were my friends
I found myself further and further from my home
And I guess I lost my way
There were oh so many roads 
I was living to run and running to live
Never worried about paying or even how much I owed
Moving eight miles a minute for months at a time
Breaking all of the rules that would bend
I began to find myself searchin'

Searchin' for shelter again and again
Against the wind

A little something against the wind I found myself seeking shelter against the wind

Well those drifters days are past me now I've got so much more to think about Deadlines and commitments
What to leave in, what to leave out 
 

Against the wind
I'm still runnin' against the wind
I'm older now but still running 
Against the wind

Well I'm older now and still running Against the wind
Against the wind, let the cowboys ride
Against the wind, aah

Against the wind, let the cowboys ride
They'll be ridin' against the wind
Against the wind
Riding' against the wind

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0