Family and Bicycles - Against The Wind - CycleBlaze

Family and Bicycles

Inspiration and Support

To plan and  do a tour as long as Against The Wind has to suit the family situation. Our kids are grown up, working and making their own way in the world. My parents are over 90 years old, and still living independently. They do have some health problems which concerns me. "Should I stay in case I am needed?" is a question I ask myself often, but I know that if I am needed, I can jump on a bus or plane and be home reasonably fast. 

My wife Jane is understanding enough to let me do this slightly eccentric tour.  If all goes well, she will meet me at tour end and we will return east by the Indian-Pacific Railway. We've done long cycle tours together, so she knows what they are like. And what I am like.

All our three kids cycle commute, and son Joe has recently tried his first cycle tour. My nephew Kiel is already an accomplished cycle tourer  and may yet join the Against The Wind ride.

In other words, I am very lucky to have the family I do.

That said, doing this Against The Wind ride will be a step out of my comfort zone. I don’t really want to be away from family and home for several weeks, however like I did back in 1979 (see the next page of this journal), there seems to be an internal drive to keep pushing forward. 

Why I seek hard challenges, rather than simply accept a more comfortable life a 60-something like I could choose is a minor mystery. Who knows why? I just feel the need to do a longish cycle tour before I get too much older. I’ll do my best not to stop riding until the tour is done. 

Image not found :(
My parents, now both almost 90 years old, have been a huge positive influence on me. They have been my role models as active people with a love of nature. They are kind, modest, hardworking, and determined. They have never given up, even when the wind was driving against them hard. Through the hardest of times they were gentle and caring. They are my champions.
Heart 5 Comment 0



My mother was cycle commuter in the 1940s and 50s. Parts of that bike ended up in a bike I built from second hand spare parts to take to university in 1975. It lasted until 1977 then it went missing on campus.
Heart 4 Comment 4
Scott AndersonSuch a beautiful photo, Graham.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Graham SmithThanks Scott. It is a precious photo, and I only discovered it a few years ago.

The photo also means a lot to me because my mother indirectly sparked the idea for this forthcoming attempt to ride to Perth; and I also remember that bike in its final years.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Mark BinghamIt IS a beautiful photo, and that is so cool that you used parts for another bike.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Graham SmithTo Mark BinghamThanks Mark. My mum is 93 years old now and still active. Almost every day she gardens, and a couple of weeks ago she even drove herself to the hairdresser!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
My wife Jane and I touring in Japan a few years ago. We used our folding bikes in combination with trains.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Son Joe strikes a pose on our recent cycle tour of Taiwan. This was his first cycle tour.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Joe explaining to me how to ride against the wind.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Nephew Kiel has a passion for cycle touring. Last year he rode from Portugal to Denmark. He might join the Against The Wind tour. Watch this space.
Heart 2 Comment 0

It will be interesting to see if this Against The Wind tour on a bicycle is more of a metaphor about moving forward, or just moving.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0