Guamni: A productive work day - The third step ... The rising sun upon our backs - CycleBlaze

June 26, 2017

Guamni: A productive work day

The plan for today was to work, which is what we did.

Almost every motel we have stayed at in South Korea has had a desktop PC in the room. It seems that every time the PC is rebooted, it creates a temporary user that you are automatically signed on as.

I would never use one of these PCs to do any personal stuff because of the fear of keystroke logging etc but they are great for web browsing. The problem is that they are setup with Korean as the language and Hangul as the font. Sometimes simple things like JavaScript have been disabled. My way around this has been to fire up IE and download and install US English Firefox. This then affords the the opportunity of accessing the 'net but leaving anything sensitive on the laptop that we cart around with us.

Because we only carry the one laptop (two would be just too heavy for me to manage although I am tempted to buy two smaller and lighter laptops at some point) it means that there is a competition between Leigh and myself as to who gets first dibs at the laptop.

Leigh managed to get all her stuff done, so she has a pretty clean slate at the moment while I also had a pretty productive day working on the motel PC.

****Techie Alert !!! Avert you eyes if you don't like this stuff ****

The work I wanted to do today was a bit of research and messing around with newer web and mobile development technologies using the Ionic and Angular frameworks. This meant that the setup of the motel PCs would suite me down to the ground because I could setup a full development environment and do my messing around knowing that it will be deleted once I power off. Because it was purely a learning experience I didn't need to keep what I was going to do. So it didn't matter that the PC deleted everything once I was done. At the end of the day, I managed to do a prototype hybrid Android app and test it on my mobile phone without cluttering up the laptop with stuff that I might not want to have installed.

Today's ride: 5 km (3 miles)
Total: 2,274 km (1,412 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0