Truro to Windsor - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

October 10, 2012

Truro to Windsor

The early warm and dry night worked it's magic last night, and I was feeling better this morning (even if not yet 100%), which is just as well as it was a murky and wet morning, and I rode with lights on through some lovely farming country to Kennetcook. By contrast to the beginning of the trip when most of the crops were just starting to grow, they have nearly all been harvested now, and all that is left is the stubble in the fields.

Judging by the bullet holes, not everyone in this area is a regular church attendee.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Whilst having a coffee and a sandwich at the cafe in Kennetcook I was intrigued by some old machinery over the road, so when finished I went to investigate, and found two barns full of old agricultural machinery, mostly fully restored, and a notice saying to feel free to look around. This made a quick stop turn into a very long one.

One of the old tractors on display.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was mainly quiet rural roads again that took me to Windsor, my destination for the day. I was bought up in Windsor (England), so was keen to visit one of its namesakes - it is quite a contrast to the one I know!

Heart 0 Comment 0
This place should be next to Tommy Hawk's Haircuts.
Heart 0 Comment 0

At this time of year official camping spots are hard to come by, as most have closed for the season, but there was one still open here, the Hants County Exhibition Trailer Park. It is near a busy highway, and maybe not the most picturesque of settings, but it is open, has a good breeze to dry things out, and I have the place to myself. What more could a guy ask for?

View from the campsite.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 63 miles (101 km)
Total: 8,737 miles (14,061 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0