Tompkins to Ponteix - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

June 12, 2012

Tompkins to Ponteix

Somehow I managed to end up in the direction I intended heading today, without taking any unnecessary diversions. That was about the only thing I got right though.

I'm no wildlife expert, but this looked like an eagles nest complete with young to me.
Heart 4 Comment 0

The first stop of the day was Gull Lake, where I left the TCH for hopefully a long time, and stopped at the bakers for a snack and a coffee. At the grocers I didn't buy much, thinking I could get more easily later on, then tried and failed to get some wifi at the closed library.

Bike parked in it's favourite position, outside a bakers.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Climax, the place to come.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Last night I must have been pointing in the wrong direction when praying to the wind gods. The 27 miles south to join the Red Coat Trail was not fun, I got battered by the wind coming from the south west, and it took nearly 3 hours to reach the junction, and required all the food in the paniers and most of the water. The ride to Cadillac where I was able to buy an ice cream at a gas station and fill up with water was tough, and when I finally rolled into Pontiex I went straight to the grocery store and devoured a tin of pear halves before managing anything else.

The Red Coat Trail.
Heart 0 Comment 0

An ice cream later I was feeling better, and found the village campground with showers by the swimming pool. Another top community run campsite to finish the day well.

Ponteix's grain elevator, viewed from the campground.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 88 miles (142 km)
Total: 3,097 miles (4,984 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0