Medicine Hat to Tompkins - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

June 11, 2012

Medicine Hat to Tompkins

Yesterday was spent at Cal's, chilling, eating and listening to some more great music. Cal's a very accomplished singer / songwriter, and I can't wait until he fulfils his promise to write the line "my tuba days are all done now" into one of his songs.

I set off this morning on the Trans Canada Highway (TCH), a road I was trying to avoid, heading for Cypress Hills Provincial Park. A couple of miles after turning onto the road for the park I turned round and went back to the TCH, defeated by the wind. I was struggling this morning, unable to find my pace and stopping at any opportunity.

Heart 0 Comment 0

When I stopped at the Visitor Information 40km into Saskatchewan I came out very impressed with the service, with full water bottles, a free map of the province and a new route to take, the very helpful lady had suggested the Red Coat Trail, road 13. I planned to stop in Maple Creek, but after a cinnamon bun and large ice cream had far too much energy, so rode another 38 miles to the Shady Place Campground in Tompkins, a village run campground, which at $15 for the site and free showers gets my vote.

Downtown Maple Creek, "Cow Town".
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view at 3,000 miles.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 107 miles (172 km)
Total: 3,009 miles (4,843 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0