Summerside to Tidnish Crossroads - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

October 7, 2012

Summerside to Tidnish Crossroads

Yesterday was another day off the bike - the trip is nearing it's conclusion now, and I have to get used to not riding every day. Also, Trevor was great company, and last night I agreed to go to the Stock Car racing with him. Unfortunately, like an idiot I forgot to take my camera with me, but it was a great introduction to this "sport". I must confess that I have not been converted, and I will not be driving across Canada in a stock car next year.

I thought it was Newfoundland famed for it's dogs, but these PEI dogs are sure to make the province famous.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After a much quieter night I awoke at a much more reasonable hour, and was off soon after 9 with a belly full of bacon and eggs, heading towards the Confederation Bridge, joining PEI to mainland Canada. This is one of the few places where you can't ride your bike, and have to load it onto the back of a truck and be driven across. At the other side of the bridge is New Brunswick, my 10th and last province of the trip.

Confederation Bridge, looking back towards PEI. (This one's for you Lofty)
Heart 0 Comment 0

Having filled my stomach (again) at the information centre I was off, on the quiet back roads, and hadn't gone far when I saw a couple of cyclists pulled up on the other side of the road. Sean and Wendy, a couple from Ottawa, had just been out for a ride, and invited me into their cottage for a beer - an invitation I rarely refuse, and they gave me some useful route advice too.

Roadside autumn colours.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Normally being in 2 provinces in a day is cause for celebration, but today I made it 3. Just before I stopped for the night I was back in Nova Scotia, and set up the tent at a Provincial Picnic Site - not an "official" camping location, but I left it as I found it except for a small area of flattened grass. It was a beautiful calm evening with clear skies, and I went to sleep full of hope for tomorrow.

Eating at the "picnic site".
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 53 miles (85 km)
Total: 8,582 miles (13,811 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0