St Anthony to Quirpon - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

August 13, 2012

St Anthony to Quirpon

I left the Triple Falls RV Park (although I think it should be renamed the Cripple Falls RV Park - it makes Fawlty Towers look proficient) in rain this morning later than normal, having done some laundry and caught up with the journal. On my way to L'anse aux Meadows I saw two HEAVILY laden touring bikes resting in the shelter of the rain against a grocery store wall. When I was chatting to Dan yesterday he told me of a Norwegian couple in the area, and this had to be them. I found them and we swapped stories. They started at the southern tip of South America, rode to San Francisco then came cross country across the USA into Ontario, and on to Newfoundland. They are now on their way to the airport at St Anthony to fly to Iceland where they will ride for a couple of weeks before catching a ferry to Denmark (via the Faroe Isles), and another ferry to Norway, then will finish their ride when they have made it to Nordkapp (The North Cape). Wow, that's what I call a bike ride!

The weather was not suitable for lots of photography today,but I had to risk flooding the camera to get a shot of these two with their bikes. It certainly makes my load seem tiny by comparison.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Feeling rather insignificant by comparison I rode on through the steadily worsening rain to the L'Anse aux Meadows National Historic Site, site of the first Viking settlement in North America. There is an interpretive centre there, with a recreation of a building they would have built, complete with costumed guides inside. It was a thoroughly excellent way to spend the afternoon, and would have been equally as good even if the sun had been shining.

Home for the night is at the appropriately named Viking RV Park, just a couple of miles down the road, and a vast improvement on last nights offering.

Today's ride: 24 miles (39 km)
Total: 6,597 miles (10,617 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0