Shoal Cove East to St Anthony - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

August 12, 2012

Shoal Cove East to St Anthony

I woke up this morning to a tent covered in slugs. Yuk! Fortunately they weren't as big as the banana slugs of California which the Californians seem so proud of.

It was a tough ride through "unfavourable" wind to a campsite just outside St Barbe, with the only distraction being meeting another solo cyclist, Dan, who was heading south, so we stopped for a chat and to exchange information on the routes ahead.

Roadside view.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Making the most of a roadside rest stop.
Heart 0 Comment 0

By the time I arrived at the campsite, the only food I had left in the panniers were a few crumbs in the bottom, so I rode another 6 miles into town to stock up. At the risk of sounding negative, the food selection was nowhere as good as I had become used to in Quebec - where like all French speaking places they love their food. The one thing good to come out of this however was that I was able to satisfy a craving for tinned chilli con carne, a taste I had acquired in small town USA, and had not been able to do anything about whilst in Quebec.

Today's ride: 66 miles (106 km)
Total: 6,573 miles (10,578 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0