Shaw Island to San Juan Island - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

May 16, 2012

Shaw Island to San Juan Island

After going to the library, which with a population as small as Shaw's is not open all that often, today being one of it's closed days, and not having the password for the internet, I returned to the campsite to say my farewells to Nigel and Chelsea.

Shaw's library
Heart 1 Comment 0

Nigel and I decided to ride the "Ben Nevis Loop". Whilst riding it, it seemed appropriate to scale it's lofty heights, so we clambered up to the summit of the islands highest peak, which at 385 feet provided beautiful views of San Juan Island, my destination for the day. How many Ben Nevis's are there in the world (Nigel assures me there are 2 in New Zealand)? What a great trip it would be to cycle around climbing them all...

Heart 1 Comment 0

After a mentally exhausting ferry trip, to Orcas, back to Shaw, then Lopez before finally arriving at San Juan, having done my shopping and said goodbye to Stephanie I ended up at a local commercial fisherman's house. Nick and I had a couple of beers, tried some of his home caught and smoked Sockeye Salmon, chatted and became friends. It was then a quick dash to the other side of the island to set up camp at the San Juan County Park Campground, having nearly missed the entrance whilst going downhill at an American record breaking 42 mph, which for once has it's hiker biker site in the best spot, overlooking the Haro Strait to Vancouver Island. Being the only person on the site I nabbed the front row spot straight away

Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 27 miles (43 km)
Total: 1,596 miles (2,569 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0