Orcas Island to Shaw Island - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

May 15, 2012

Orcas Island to Shaw Island

After waking to the sound of water lapping against the shore, then eating my usual breakfast in the not so usual surroundings of the huge dining shelter, I was on my way again, this time via East Sound to get my wifi fix and do some shopping, to the ferry terminal. On the way there I broke my American Speed record by notching up a top speed of 40mph, a good indicator or the islands terrain. I had intended to do my shopping at the store there before boarding, but as the ferry was ready and waiting I just rolled straight on, and got talking to an Englishman who had moved to the Islands 30 years ago. Hmmm...

Also on the ferry I got talking to Stephanie, a very interesting lady from Shaw island. We carried on talking after arriving at Shaw, and she became my Island guide, even inviting me to the dinner and fundraising event later that evening.

Alpacas on the island.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Whilst exploring the island I saw 2 familiar bikes propping up a hedge, and when setting up camp at the Shaw Island County Park Campground, one of the coolest sites so far with the most way out and whacky restrooms, Nigel and Chelsea reappeared, and we spent the rest of the afternoon chilling and chatting in the sun.

Home for the night.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The evenings entertainment was inspiring, with over a third of the islands population of 270 turning up to a delicious 4 course meal followed by guest speaker and very well supported auction, to which I was made very welcome.

Today's ride: 24 miles (39 km)
Total: 1,569 miles (2,525 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0