Port Orford to Lakeside - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

April 30, 2012

Port Orford to Lakeside

Today was a day of two different halves. I awoke to the first half thinking 'this is a typical Monday morning', and was tempted to roll over and go back to sleep. But not tempted enough. It had rained all night and was still raining when I got up, so I just packed the tent away wet, again, and got on the road. It was a full waterproofs, hi-viz and lights on morning, but the wind was coming from behind and there was no way I was going to pass this by. Despite the rain it was a pleasant ride to Bandon through gently rolling countryside and a not very busy 101. Arriving in Bandon soaked I called at the tourist information to find a recommended café with wifi, and just as I was leaving, the lady said 'there's a bike shop in town'.

I pulled up outside South Coast Bicycles, there were no lights on and the board said not open Mondays. Just as I was about to turn away I was ushered in by Karl Maxon, the owner, who instantly went to work on the freehub. After stripping and checking, he confirmed that it is worn, but as he didn't have one in stock, arranged for another shop about 2 days riding away to get one in so I can have it replaced when passing. Not only this, but he was a very interesting guy, an ex-professional cyclist who has just come back into the bicycle industry with this shop. He really did go all out to help me, and I wholeheartedly recommend his shop to anyone passing or in the area. He even has a shower in the shop!

After having some tea, internet time and then lunch at the café recommended by Karl, I was on the road again, this being the second half, and dry enough to take the waterproofs off. I had now lost the tailwind but went through some beautiful, quiet and hilly roads bringing me out near North Bend, a sprawling mass of city, leading onto Coos Bay Bridge, a big monster of a bridge with a button to press to warn other road users that there is a cyclist on the bridge and reduce their speed to 30 mph. Yeah right! After passing a few uninspiring and overpriced commercial campgrounds, I set up for the night at the William M. Tugman State Park Campground, at one of my favourites, a hiker biker site. The most exciting event of the evening was definitely getting to the end of the 2lb bag of rice I bought over a week ago. Thank goodness.

Due to the weather today, the camera didn't come out, so here are a couple of shots I've been saving for such an occasion.

Camping American style; just throw a few essentials in the back of the car and head off into the great outdoors to escape the stresses, strains and constraints of everyday life.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The road's shoulder is not always in perfect condition.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 82 miles (132 km)
Total: 952 miles (1,532 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0