Brookings to Port Orford - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

April 29, 2012

Brookings to Port Orford

Progress was slow this morning. Not because I didn't get on the road early, as I was on the move by 7. Not because I was feeling drained either, as I had just had a day off and was feeling strong. And not because of any issues with the bike, because freehub aside she is running sweetly. The reason that I was taking ages to get anywhere is because of the stunning scenery I had to keep stopping, admiring and photographing. This stretch of coast really is beautiful, with its sea stacks, high cliffs and crashing waves it really is an effort to keep eyes on the road.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

When I reached the top of the hill that descends to Gold Beach, I was wandering if there was something wrong with my legs, then I stopped the bike and checked that both the wheels were free to turn, then when I rounded the corner and the full force of the wind hit me I realised why I had been having to pedal hard to make progress downhill. By the time I got to Gold Beach and had bought some supplies I was ready for a break, and met Andy in a café who is on his first tour, heading from Arcata to somewhere in the top of Washington State.

These suicide caterpillars were all over the roads shoulder at one point.
Heart 1 Comment 0

It turned into a beautiful afternoon with clear blue skies, and by the time I reached the Humbug Mountain State Park Campground having been riding in shorts and t-shirt I was ready to call it a day, and took a short walk to the deserted but very scenic beach before catching up on the never ending list of chores. I was hoping to return to the beach later to see the sun set, but the sky clouded over and the temperature dropped fast so my attention was turned to my now nearly finished book. As I drifted off to sleep I heard the dreaded pitter patter of raindrops on the tent.

Hanging out with the birds.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 52 miles (84 km)
Total: 870 miles (1,400 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0