Norris Point to somewhere before Wiltondale - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

August 19, 2012

Norris Point to somewhere before Wiltondale

The weather forecasters predicted a 60% chance of rain, but I can report that there was a 100% occurrence of rain today. Lots of it, and very heavy at times. It delayed my getting on the road, as well as the wifi at the campsite and the National Park Information Centre, and it wasn't until 3pm that I finally ventured out properly, and realised as always that the rain isn't as bad as anticipated.

Home for the night.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The road south out of the National Park was now at it's hilliest, which encouraged some side trips to look at waterfalls and viewpoints on the way. When I got to the top of the final and highest climb I saw signs for a lookout with covered picnic areas and toilets. Was I hallucinating? No, it was real, a campsite from heaven, all to myself. That was until two motorcyclists from Quebec turned up to occupy the other shelter, but this turned out to be a blessing as they were such good company, with many funny stories to tell.

Wet clothing drying, dinner on the go and a cup of tea being drunk. What more does a guy need?
Heart 0 Comment 0

The fact that I was also out of water didn't matter, as the big man upstairs sent plenty more rainwater on it's way which I was able to catch in the pan as it fell off the roof of the shelter. I didn't even bother with the tent, I just set up in the shelter of the shelter on the floor, for a peaceful dry night.

Today's ride: 26 miles (42 km)
Total: 6,894 miles (11,095 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0