Nearly off - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

April 1, 2012

Nearly off

With only a few days to go till the off final preparations are well under way, with lots of time being spent with my daughter Sally. The more observant out there might have noticed that the daparture date has moved forward by a day - a symbolic if not significant move.

The weather was so unseasonably good last week that my bike has been fully prepared, with new tyres and drivetrain being fitted.

I bet it'll not stay this clean for long.
Heart 0 Comment 0

For a while I have been considering a front rack with a carrying platform, so I made one of those too last week. Having been made so late it hasn't been tested under load yet, so hopefully my welding will pass the test of Canada's roads - although if it can survive the pothole covered roads of Sheffield on our way out on Thursday I reckon it can survive just about anything. For the technically minded, it's made from 10mm steel tube with a wall thickness of 1mm, has 5 mounting points, a mounting point for a front light, and weighs just 700g.

So, time now to get ready for a childs birthday party, do some more packing, and cleaning of the house ready for renting out. Roll on the simplicity of life on the road.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0