Sheffield to Prestwood - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

April 5, 2012

Sheffield to Prestwood

Last week through to Sunday I was wearing shorts. Yesterday I awoke to thick snow falling fast with a bitter wind blowing hard from the North. This made me think that my plan to leave home early was not going to happen. However, I spent the day cleaning and packing in a sad mood as I had said goodbye to my daughter Sally, and wouldn't be seeing her for a long while. Due to the snow, the normal Wednesday evening riding group was cancelled, and we went to the pub instead. Due to too many beers, and lots of goodbyes I finally got to sleep far later than normal.

Still looking fresh and smiling... after the first 100 yds.
Heart 0 Comment 0

As expected, I awoke early with a mixture of excitement and butterflies. Today I was starting the trip that I'd been dreaming of for 13 years. Apart from being cold, it was an uneventful ride, with the snow finally disappearing just outside Ashbourne, to the Farm on the Hill Eco Campsite at Prestwood, an idyllic site in an idyllic location all to myself. It was a short but hilly first day to help get into the rhythm, but it was enough in my tired and exhausted state. Hopefully the recipe of a few days riding, fresh air and long sleeps will rid me of the tiredness so I can really start to enjoy this adventure.

The evening got cold, so I lit a fire in one of the fire pits supplied, and warmed myself up, ready to watch the sun go down and then climb into bed.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Eco Loo, just do your stuff then throw in a couple of handfuls of straw.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 42 miles (68 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0